When in doubt, Olive Oil is the answer

Paleo
Mmmm meat.

I am a total foodie.  I love food.  LOVE it.  So as you can imagine, the whole concept of Paleo was a hard pill to swallow.  When I first drank the Crossfit Kool-Aid, it was filled with sugar and probably chased by a hunk of bread and butter.  I made the change to a better diet on the first of the year, and haven’t looked back since, but I’m still a food whore.

I will never be a girl who doesn’t enjoy food.  I will never be the type of person who thinks of it as “fuel” and nothing more.   I love the experience of eating stuff that tastes good.  I won’t ever be someone who embraces chicken and broccoli for three meals a day.

So what’s a Paleo food whore to do?

Through the inspiration of one of the coaches, I joined a veggie share club.  Each week I get a box the size of a large dog filled with a whole bunch of stuff that in most cases, I’ve never heard of.  Sure, they throw in some apples and avocados from time to time, but usually I’m getting purple potatoes, beets, kale, chard, and any other number of things that I don’t have any idea what to do with.

Now for as much as I love eating, cooking isn’t so much my thing.  Don’t get me wrong, I can hold my own in the kitchen, but if it takes more than 5 ingredients or more than 10 minutes to prep, I lose interest and would really rather just pay someone else to cook it for me.

So when I first began getting my veggie boxes of deliciousness, I was really stumped.  There are millions of recipes out there, but most have 20 ingredients, 100 steps, and require more prep time than my average WOD.  I just wasn’t interested.

Luckily, a good friend of mine came to my rescue with this sage advice.  “When in doubt, add olive oil and sea salt and either roast or sauté it.  Root vegetable?  Roast.  Leafy, sauté. “

This was the best advice I’ve ever been given.  This principle can literally be applied to every single vegetable I’ve encountered in the past two months.  I would add that garlic seems to never be a bad thing either.

I’ve discovered flavors I never even knew existed, and have really grown to love the taste of fresh produce prepared simply, not drowning in butter, cream or cheese.

I’ve also found a way to appease my inner foodie.  I never feel deprived as I’m always trying new and exotic things, and 99% of the time they taste amazing (the jury is still out on chard).

But more than all of that, I’m proud that I didn’t allow things that once would have been barriers to my eating well derail me this time around.  My hands may currently be a fantastic florescent shade of fuchsia from my beet roasting extravaganza last night, but the rest of me is looking better than ever.

Leave a Reply

