Note to self: Beer is not a recovery drink

12 oz curls

I belong to a cycling group who says they are drinkers with a cycling problem.

Pre-Crossfit, I frequently complained that I had a “drinking problem” when my wine glass or beer mug was empty.

I’ve come a long way since then, but I admit, if I’m going to consume something not paleo, and not beneficial to my body, my training, and my overall goals, it’s going to be alcohol.

For me, and I can only assume for others, the social aspect of having a few cocktails with friends is something that I’m not sure I’m willing to give up.  I’m young, have no children, and have a lot of disposable income.  Heading out to dinner and having a drink or two is a pretty regular occurrence.

Some days, I have no problem reconciling the fact that I work out hard, follow a Paleo diet, and drink a few nights a week.  But some days, like today, I wonder how much faster I could improve my body and reach my goals if I would be willing to give that up.

Seeing as tomorrow I, along with the rest of my box, will be snatching a ladder that starts at 45 lbs and posting my score for the world to see as part of the Crossfit Open, I think it’s safe to say that I’m strong enough that those 12 oz curls aren’t doing me any favors.

Leave a Reply

