Girl Crushes aka the Lady Boner

One of my good friends coined the term “lady boner” many years ago, and I’m borrowing it for today’s post as it very accurately describes how I feel about the women below.  Girl crush is just not a strong enough word for how much these ladies inspire me.

And since it’s a Monday after a long weekend of abusing my body, I could use the added inspiration.

So without further ado, here’s my current short list of girls who kick butt, and should give everyone out there looking for some inspiration their own version of a lady boner.

Kerri and Misty

5.  Kerri Walsh and Misty May Treanor

Ok, so I know this is actually two people.  But this dynamic duo really just ups the boner potential by 1000 when mentioned together.  Not only are they amazing athletes, three time Olympic gold medalists, and the reason men are willing to watch women’s volleyball, but they are amazing people, wives and mothers and I’ve loved watching them inspire time and time again.

Jennifer Garner

4.  Jennifer Garner

This girl won my heart back in 2000 playing Sydney Bristow in Alias.  If she were a boy I would have her children.  Her kick butt martial arts expert, half ballerina with perfectly straight haired children.  They would do push ups in the womb and probably come out pre programmed with kung fu.

Lolo Jones

3.  Lolo Jones

In 2008 Lolo was favored to win her event in Bejing at the Olympics, and instead took a hurdle to the gut and ate it, finishing 7th.  I watched from my couch yelling at the tv in frustration right along with her.  But this girl is one heck of a trooper.  She’s raced dozens of times since then, including again in the 2012 games placing fourth in the same event.  Not only that, but she has recently received notoriety as a Bobsledder, because that makes perfect sense?  But who cares?  This girl is fast, awesome, and an amazing athlete not only for her skill, but her ability to get up and keep going when life throws a “hurdle” in her way.  See what I did there?

Julie Foucher

2.  Julie Foucher

If you love Crossfit, you have at least one lady boner for a Crossfit Games athlete.  Julie is mine.  Not only is she a total and complete beast, but let’s be honest here, she’s hot.  No one should look that pretty half way through a WOD.  My favorite thing about Julie though, is that she’s such a REAL person.  I’ve followed her on facebook and her blog, and she has posted videos of when she first started Crossfit, and talked honestly about balancing her life with the Games and school.  I love that someone I admire so much has overcome so many of the same problems that each of us face daily.  I would say I want to be her when I grow up, but she’s 5 years younger than me so that doesn’t really work.

Ronda Rousey

1. Ronda Rousey

This girl kicks butt in ways that make boys cry.  She has navigated the PR of a predominantly male sport, and has dominated not only physically in the ring, but outside of it to become a media darling as well.  She is so smoking hot she could easily be one of the bikini girls holding the signs between rounds, but instead chooses to be the bad ass winning her remarkable 7-0 fights by beating the hell out of her opponents and pinning them in her famous arm bar, winning each of her professional fights by submission.  I watched an announcement this weekend that this first ever UFC Women’s World Champion is now going to be the first ever female coach on Season 18 of the Ultimate Fighter.  Talk about inspiring.  She can pin me any day.

Leave a Reply

