3.19.2013

Warm Up

SWOD: Sumo Deadlift 5×5

1×5@ 83
1×5@ 103
1×5@ 123
1 @ 133- Holy jalapenos that was heavy.  I wasn’t able to lift it again
2×5 @ 123

I think it’s safe to say, I found my max on this lift.

WOD:
8 minute AMRAP
20 kb swings
25 DU
Run 100 m

Score: 3+8 with 25 lb kb

A couple of things impacted my workout this morning.

  1.  I am exhausted.  I went to bed last night at 9 p.m., fell asleep quickly, woke up around 1 to pee, and was not ever able to fall back to sleep.  When the alarm went off I almost just went back to bed, but I figure my sleep schedule is already wonky, the last thing I need is to sleep in this morning and throw myself off even worse for tonight.
  2. My Achilles tendon on my right foot is very sore, and this morning crossed the threshold into pain.  It has been sore since Wednesday of last week when we practiced box jumps, though it never really “hurt” per se.  I didn’t run yesterday during the warm up and rowed instead, but today my ego and desire to get better at running got the best of me, and by the end of the WOD I was paying for it.  I don’t believe I’m hurt, but right now it definitely hurts.  I’m going to plan to row the remainder of the week to give it time to recover.
  3. I am dehydrated.  I did not drink enough water yesterday, and because I was so out of it this morning (I walked into the box without my sneakers on and had to go back to my car to get them) I didn’t drink my normal bottle of water before class.  I’ve got some catching up to do.

Because of all of this, I refuse to be disappointed in my performance this morning.  I went, and for today, that means I took a step towards reaching my goals.

Even if it was an ugly limping step.

Leave a Reply

