Commitment… It’s different than being committed

Spices

Mondays are my cooking night.  I usually do my meal planning during my lunch break at work, and then hit the store on my way home.  Then I end up cooking until 8 at night making sure I’ve got tasty delicious and healthy stuff for the week.

My goal every week is to eat Paleo 80% of the time.  This week my box kicked off a “Whole 30” challenge, which is pretty much the Nazi extremist version of Paleo for a full 30 days.  I’m participating-ish.  I am absolutely 100% committed to living a healthier lifestyle and reaching my goals, and I know that the “Whole 30” is a great way to do that.  I also know myself well enough to recognize that the moment I tell myself I “can’t” have something that I am not ready or willing to give up, it’s all that I will want.

So much of this journey has been about self discovery, and understanding my behaviors so that I can understand how to improve them.  Right now I’m really trying to understand why I’m willing to make certain changes and I’m not willing to make others.  I’m also trying to gently nudge myself daily towards overall better choices.

While I’m not willing to give up almond milk (which is better than half and half anyway) in my coffee every morning, I’ve decided I will give up all refined sugars, all products with “ingredients”,  and alcohol for the next 30 days.

In honor of that decision, and of taking one more step towards my goals, here is one of the drool-liscious recipes I made last night.  It is 100% Paleo (provided you use grass fed pasture raised pork with no added ingredients- read your labels, they add salt and sugar to practically everything), and one of the most delicious things I’ve ever tasted.

Spice Rubbed Pork Tenderloin

Rub Ingredients:
1 ½ Teaspoons Sea Salt
½ Teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 pork tenderloin (approx. 2.5-3 lbs cut into quarters)
2 tablespoons oil (I used coconut)
2 tablespoons minced garlic

Preheat oven to 350.

Mix all rub ingredients together.  Coat pork tenderloin in rub.  I used a 2.5 lb tenderloin and had more than enough to thoroughly coat the entire thing.

Heat oil and garlic in large pan.  Add pork tenderloin and brown on each side, approx. 4 minutes total.

Transfer pork into baking pan and roast until your meat thermometer reads at least 140, mine took about 25 minutes.  Remove from oven and let the pork stand for 10 minutes, the temperature should rise to around 155 while standing.

Slice on the diagonal and serve.

 

2 thoughts on “Commitment… It’s different than being committed

  1. Great post! The comment you made “So much of this journey has been about self discovery” really resonated with me. I need to remember to focus on that, and on “understanding my behaviors so that I can understand how to improve them.” Thanks for the reminder!

  2. Pingback: My Johari Window | (Not As) Big Bob

Leave a Reply

