You say tomato, I say “what the hell is wrong with you?!”

Morning person

I am unhappy that I slept in this morning.  I didn’t think these words would ever come out of my mouth.

For the past several months I have religiously gone to Crossfit every morning at 6 a.m., meaning I wake up and leave the house before my husband each day.  Today is an exception, I had to be in to work early and changed my schedule so that I will be attending class this evening.  But after the near death experience that my husband had this morning (because I almost freaking killed him), I won’t do that again.

Men and women are different.  I know that.  There are also morning people and not morning people in this world.  I’m aware of that as well.  I know that I’m not a morning person, but my husband definitely has me beat in that department.

He honest to god sets 10 alarms every morning.  They start at 5:45 a.m. and go off every 7-10 minutes until he actually crawls out of bed at 7 a.m.  at which point he futzes around for another 30 minutes before he actually has to get in the shower and get ready for work.

When it comes to mornings, I am the polar opposite.  My alarm goes off every morning at 5:30 and I am out of bed within seconds.  I’m not chipper, I’m not happy, but I’m up.  I have exactly 10 minutes to brush my teeth, get dressed, and get out the door if I am to make it to Crossfit on time.  Could I set my alarm earlier and snooze it?  Sure, but why bother?  I get every single minute of uninterrupted sleep that I can and just get up when my alarm goes off.

This morning I was technically able to sleep in until 7 a.m., giving me 30 minutes to get out the door to work (which is all I need).  Sadly, I was awake from the moment his alarm went off at 5:45, and ready to kill him every subsequent time it cycled through the “snooze” or the next alarm he had set.  This morning I heard, not necessarily in this order, a lawnmower starting, church bells, a dog barking, and something that sounded like a nuclear siren, all in an attempt to get him out of bed.

Right around the time I was ready to smother him with a pillow, my alarm went off and I was up.

Conveniently, that was when he was ready to get in the shower as well.

Ah marriage.

Leave a Reply

