3.29.2013

Today was 13.4.

Did the usual warm up- we added in leg swings and burpees, both of which I’m glad to have back in the rotation.

Did some hamstring stretching mobility along with some core warm up for toes to bar.

This is the first of the Open WOD’s that I am not yet able to do Rx, so I scaled and got to work.

WOD:

WOMEN – includes Masters Women up to 54 years old
Complete as many reps as possible in 7 minutes following the rep scheme below:
95 pound Clean and jerk, 3 reps
3 Toes-to-bar
95 pound Clean and jerk, 6 reps
6 Toes-to-bar
95 pound Clean and jerk, 9 reps
9 Toes-to-bar
95 pound Clean and jerk, 12 reps
12 Toes-to-bar
95 pound Clean and jerk, 15 reps
15 Toes-to-bar
95 pound Clean and jerk, 18 reps
18 Toes-to-bar…
This is a timed workout. If you complete the round of 18, go on to 21. If you complete 21, go on to 24, etc.

Score: 56 with 73 lbs and knees to elbows

Pretty darn happy about that.  Also, I decided on my new short-term goal… I want to Rx Grace.  I love love LOVE the clean and jerk movement and I feel like I “get” it.  I’m positive I could do 95 lbs at least once, and I’m even more positive that if I make a concerted effort to improve my efficiency on the lift (especially at getting under the jerk) I could Rx this within a few months.

Additionally, my “toes to bar” have improved massively in the past two weeks.  Between the kipping swings in the warm up and practicing, I’m getting much stronger at curling my hips up when I bring my knees up.  My toes are a solid foot closer to the bar than they were when I started working on this skill.  I think within another month I’m going to be able to do at least a few of these.

 

Leave a Reply

