Some things you simply don’t want to learn about your elders…

My grandmother is 88 years old and is about the coolest, kookiest lady you will ever meet.  She also has a penchant for doing some of the most hilarious things you’ve ever heard.  Today’s blog entry is one of my favorite stories about her.

We have a tradition in my family of baking bread for special occasions.  Grandma is not just a baker, she is an artist.  She makes the loaves from complete scratch, doing every step by hand and creating amazing flavors with sundried tomatoes, sweet berries, or other fresh ingredients.

I’m all about the Paleo, but my willpower doesn’t stand a chance against Grandma’s bread.

This weekend is a special occasion, so she set to work yesterday baking a loaf.  A delicious sourdough recipe infused with dill.  She did all of the prep, spent time kneading the dough, and was finally ready to let the dough rise.

We decided to run a few errands, one of which was to go to a very hoity toity part of town to a very posh boutique to pick up a gift.

So here we are, in this classy boutique filled with well-dressed sophisticated women.  My grandma is browsing across the store and I look up and see her with a horrified look on her face.

While I watch, she proceeds to cup her hands over her nose and breathe deeply, then pull them back away with an expression worse than the first.

I have no idea what’s going on, so I ask, “grandma are you ok?” loudly, as her hearing is not what it once was.

She responds back to me, just as loudly, “Oh, I’m fine dear.  I just keep smelling that dill dough on my hands.”

Think about it…  Dill. Dough.

Every. Single. Person. In the store turned to look at her in shock.

I collapsed into a fit of giggles.

And she had no idea what was so funny.

May we all live as long and be as awesome as my Grandma.

2 thoughts on “Some things you simply don’t want to learn about your elders…

  1. Pingback: The world according to my grandma | Not the fat kid in gym class anymore…

Leave a Reply

