4.22.2013

Went to Crossfit at 6:30 p.m. rather than my usual 6 a.m.  It is bloody hot outside later in the day.

Warm Up: 1 round of the usual

SWOD: Overhead Squats 5×5

Warm Up 1×5 @15
1×5 @ 35
2×5@ 45
2×5 @ 55 PR!

Up until really recently, these have been the bane of my existence.  I never thought I would progress past the training bar at 15 because I just could not get my arms to balance with what my legs were doing.  About a month ago I got one rep at 55, but the coach stopped me because my shoulders were all wrong and I was leaning way to the left.

After some tweaking, I realized I was positioning my hands too wide, and I was babying my left hand (the one that I broke back in October).

Last night, I banged out the first set of 55 like it was nothing!  I actually loaded the bar for 65 after that, but fell on my ass attempting the first rep.  Not because the weight was too heavy, but because my balance was still a little off.  I dropped it back down to 55, but man have I gained some confidence in this lift.

Which means good things for snatches for me as well.

WOD: 6×250 run with 1 minute rest between rounds

Time: ??? Uhm, it was either 10:05, 11:05 or 12:05.  I have no idea.  I think it was 11:05 but that seems fast.  Obviously, I was rowing.  Each of the row intervals were around a minute.

So that means it would have been 11:05.

This was hard, but fun.  It started pouring rain about half way thru so we had to scramble to move the rowers inside, but otherwise, it felt good.

Leave a Reply

