I want to scream and cry and throw things

The fact that this morning I was unable to move much less get out of bed has me a little terrified.  I went to bed last night with a really sore low back and hip, and woke up this morning in a world of hurt.  Actually, I woke up this morning whimpering pathetically and begging my husband to bring me Advil, but we’ll pretend like I was more of a trooper than that.

Obviously, I have a doctor’s appointment as soon as they could fit me in, tomorrow morning at 9 a.m.

Texted my coach to let him know what’s going on and he thinks it’s muscular.   I’m hoping that he’s right, though I’m having trouble believing that this is simple muscle soreness.  At best I believe I have an injury and have pulled or torn something, at worse I’m concerned about a herniated disc.

The thing that has me the most terrified is that I cannot point out to you where it hurts.  My lower back is screaming and every time I move or even breathe it’s painful, but I can’t rub on the sore spot.  The pain is also radiating into my left hip, and as the day goes on, down my leg.

I’m certain the fact that I’m absolutely freaking out isn’t doing anything to help with my perceived level of pain either.

I’ve spent the better part of the day worrying about what will happen if I can’t do Crossfit or cycle, how I will continue to lose weight, and a million other things.

Luckily, every time I get too far into my headspace I get the urge to move, which promptly makes me feel like I am going to cry or vomit or both, so I’m not going too crazy.

For now, everyone cross fingers that this is something that is easily healed and overcome.  If not, stay tuned for the contingency plan because I WILL heal and I will not lose any momentum on my goals.

3 thoughts on “I want to scream and cry and throw things

  1. I was out for 2 solid months once with excruciating back pain. After a lot of research and discussion with a chiropractor, I discovered it was because my IT band was tight from running, which was pulling my spine and hip together. Go to the doctor, make sure they understand what working out you do and then if you sit for the rest of the day at a desk or not. And don’t hesitate to reach out to a chiropractor. I wish I had done so much sooner.

  2. You should call your doctor and get a prescription for a muscle relaxer while you for your appt. have a friend run out and get it for you. i’m sorry you feel so bad.

Leave a Reply

