Maces and flamethrowers and Stewie, Oh my!

Sometimes I picture my warring personality traits as people.  Usually comic book type people.  Comic book type people with large weapons and bludgenoning devices hell bent on killing each other.

Yes, that’s what I picture when waiting to see what wins; my need to be liked by everyone, or my need to express my opinion, even if it will inevitably be unpopular.

My need to be well liked usually looks something like Jessica Rabbit.  How can you not like her?  In my head I’m agreeable, kind and a pleaser, always trying to help people feel comfortable and accepted.  It makes me a great event planner, and not too shabby a hostess if I do say so myself.

jessica rabbit

However, Jessica Rabbit does not always get along well with my need to express my opinion, who usually looks something like Stewie Griffin.  Where the real Stewie would just love love love to invite Jessica to one of his sexy parties, my version is much more interested in telling her to cover her tits and speak her mind.

Stewie is the one who will pipe up and question why on earth you believe the cabbage and hot sauce diet is going to work for you?  He may also spring out in times of womanly crisis when a dear friend is crying about the husband who cheated on her for the seventh time that she’s aware of, and remind her that at this point it can’t be that shocking.

stewie-griffin

Usually shortly after those types of comments fly out of my mouth I envision Jessica breaking out the flame thrower while Stewie suits up with the mace and they attempt to behead each other with a vengeance until the next opportunity to be either likable or a complete and total opinionated bitch presents itself and one emerges victorious over the other.

It’s exhausting being in my head some days.

Leave a Reply

