It’s like when a fat doctor gives you weightloss advice

I will be traveling next week for work and will be away from my box, and my current training schedule, for 5 days.

I have put an inordinate amount of thought into how I’m going to stay active and eat healthy while I am away.

I’ve planned my packing list to include work out apparel, my sneakers, extra socks and my headphones.  I’ve researched the hotel, determined the fitness center hours, and planned time for myself in the conference itinerary to get a workout in.  I have planned ahead for my travel Crossfit workouts, making sure that I could complete the WOD’s with limited equipment if needed.  I researched meal options available at the resort and have a good idea of where I will be eating to find Paleo friendly options.

So basically, I’ve put as much work into planning our participation in the conference as I have in to how I will stay on track with fitness and food while I’m away.

And I’ve been called neurotic no less than 15 times because of it.

Now, when my husband says it, it’s endearing.  He knows I’m crazy and married me anyway.  I know he’s not judging me, in fact he supports my goals more than anyone.

But when other people say it, it bugs me.

I promise, I’m not talking about this stuff 24/7.  The times my plans for the next week have come up in conversation however, I’m always greeted with judgment and negative comments about the amount of time and energy I’m investing into planning for my health.

The sad part is, I don’t just get these comments about this conference.  I’m realizing lately that negativity about health and wellness is all over the place.

Just yesterday I was complaining a bit (who, me? Complain?  Never!) about how sore I was/am from Murph on Monday.  A number of people felt this was a great opportunity to tell me how bad they believe Crossfit to be for me, how insane the workouts are, how I could see the same results from other activities, and how I was crazy for doing this to my body.

Shame on me for complaining, but it really gave me some food for thought on how much peer pressures can influence our behaviors.

Not all of the people making these comments are unhealthy.  Not all of them are unfit.  But none of them do Crossfit.  I can also be a judgmental person, but I try to keep an open mind and will rarely lecture anyone on something I don’t know a thing about.

I was surprised to get this kind of feedback from people who know me, realize how much I love Crossfit, and in most cases are aware of how much I’ve gained because of it.

It got me to thinking… how many people who want to try something or want to reach a goal never do, simply because they don’t have the support to try.

What if, rather than being surrounded by people who were telling me how awesome Crossfit was when I first began, I had been surrounded by the people commenting to me yesterday.  Would I have stuck with it?  Would I have even tried it to begin with?  And what do others have to gain by being negative about something?

I’m not sure I have a point, but if I did I think it would be simply this:  Not everyone takes the same path to reach their destination.  Everyone has to find what works for them.  Rather than being negative or judgmental, I would love to find myself in a place surrounded by support, encouragement, advice and people who want me to succeed in the way that works best for me.

Oh wait, I find myself there every single day.  It’s called my Crossfit.

So what if that makes me neurotic?  It also makes me strong.  It makes me one step closer every single day to the person I have the potential to be.

2 thoughts on “It’s like when a fat doctor gives you weightloss advice

  1. That’s awful. I always tell people how I used to run races around town as my core workout plan, and that got me to a 2 month debilitating back injury and a cortizone shot for a pinched nerve in my foot. 7 months of crossfit, and I’m still injury free.

    • I think there is so much misinformation out there about Crossfit, it’s easy to point fingers at it as the culprit. In my oponion, with the right coaches who pay close attention to form, I’m twice as likely to get injured by walking into a door frame than I am at Crossfit!

Leave a Reply

