6.18.2013

YAY back to Crossfit!

Warm Up: Some new wonky thing coach came up with.  I can’t even remember all of it, but there was yoga crap galore.  It actually wasn’t bad, lots of hip and lower back mobility stuff, so it’ll be good for me in the long run I’m sure.  I’ll pay more attention to what we did tomorrow so I can post it here.

I will say, I LOVE that we’re changing up the warm up more often.  I think for the first 6 months I did Crossfit it was the same thing, but we’ve changed it 3 times in the last 3 months.  Every time we do I get a chance to work on some of my weaknesses, so that’s great.

SWOD: Push Press 5×4

1×10 strict press @33 warm up
1×4 @53 (easy)
3×4@73
1×2@83- failed 3rd rep so I brought it back down to finish the set
1×2@73

My max on this lift is only 93, and given all my time off recently I was pretty pumped that I hit 73 with ease and got a few reps at 83.  In hindsight, I should have bumped to 78 for that last set, and will remember that for next time.

WOD: ANNIE!

50-40-30-20-10
Double Unders
Sit Ups

Time: 8:10 w/SU

I love Annie.  This is my 3rd time since starting Crossfit doing this workout.  Sadly, this is the first time that I’m using my nifty little tracker, so I don’t really have any record of how much I’ve improved.  I want to say the last time around was in the 9 minute range, but I’m not positive.

I can say, without hesitation, that my abs have gotten SO much stronger.  I remember the first time I did Annie I could barely get through the set of 50, and by the set of 30 I was only able to do 1-2 at a time and needed to rest.  Today I powered through every set almost unbroken.  On the set of 20 I rested after 10.  And I think on the set of 30 I flopped on the ground for like, a second, once or twice before I sat right back up.

But regardless.  Progress.  Yay!

3 thoughts on “6.18.2013

    • Thanks! I haven’t yet mastered my Du’s either. I usually attempt a few reps, end up whipping myself in the ass, decide it’s only fun when someone else does it, and then just bang out singles.

      We’ll get them someday!

Leave a Reply

