7.2.2013

Let me begin by saying dumbbell squat cleans can SUCK IT.  I don’t think I actually despise any movement in Crossfit other than this one.  Yes, I may complain about other movements, but really, it’s a love hate.  DB Squat cleans, you are just a hate… and yet… this WOD kicked ass.  Mine.

Warm Up: The usual

SWOD: Front Squat

I was really nervous going into this lift that my back wasn’t going to cooperate.  But fancy that, as long as I kept good form, I was fine.  Actually, I was better than fine, I hit my 1RM for 2 reps. J

1×10@ 33 warm up
1×3@53 (easy)
1×3 @ 63
1×3 @73
1×3 @ 83
1×2 @ 93 – the second rep was uuuuuglyyyy and I failed on the way back up from the third rep.  This still made me feel SO awesome, as this was my max when I was better conditioned, so I know I haven’t lost much strength from my injury and time off.

WOD:

How far can you get in 10 minutes of:

10 double unders
10 db squat cleans
100m run
20 double unders
20 squat cleans
100m run
30 double unders

Score: 20+40 (ie, 2 full rounds and 10 squat cleans into the third) @ 15 lbs on db

I am lopsided.  One leg is stronger and one arm is stronger, which makes DB squat cleans the most frustrating movement on the planet.  And I feel like I’m going to yack on every single one.  But I sucked it up and did it.  Yay me!

Leave a Reply

