“I’m never drinking again,” and other lies I tell myself

I’ve been drunk since Thursday.  I’m not right at this moment, mind you, but that is only because my vacation is over and I’m officially back to work today.  If it were acceptable to be drunk at work however, I just might be.  It would save me the splitting headache, the shakes, and the questionable withdrawals I’m going through.

The moral of this story, I had a great holiday and vacation and I’m never drinking again.

Okay, perhaps that is a bit of an overstatement.  But as yesterday kicked off another round of a Whole 30 challenge at Crossfit, I think it’s a great opportunity to challenge myself to really get back on track.  (And I guess *technically* I wasn’t drunk yesterday either… but really, that was a great first sentence to my post, wasn’t it?)

The last time we did a Whole 30 challenge, I spent a fair amount of time rationalizing with myself the things I wasn’t willing to/didn’t want to give up, and ended up never truly committing myself 100%, and falling off completely by the end of week 1.

For some reason, this time it’s different.  I wish I could pinpoint why so that I can bottle this drive and determination for when I need it at a future date, but so far I haven’t been able to figure it out.

All I know, is this:

I can drink my coffee black.  I don’t love it, but I can do it.

I don’t need to put chemicals and other process crap they call dressing on my salad.  I like to, but it’s fine without it.

Regardless of how busy I am, I can make time to cook and plan my meals so that I eat nutritionally dense food without a lot of additives.

If I’m in a position where I have to eat out, it’s possible to do so and still stay within the Whole 30 guidelines.

All of these things were excuses as to why I “can’t” that I used before.  All of them, at the moment, are obsolete.  I want to be a better athlete.  I want to put great stuff into my body.  I want to feel great all the time.

Yesterday was Day 1, and it was a smashing success.  Today I have a plan and the motivation to have another gold star day.

Want to know more about Whole 30?  Check out the free program here.  (http://whole9life.com/category/whole-30/)  It’s not a “diet” or a fad, but instead a way of nourishing your body for life.  Want to start the challenge with me?  Do it today.  You have control over your health and success.

9 thoughts on ““I’m never drinking again,” and other lies I tell myself

  1. I just finished whole 30 on June 24th and did nothing but eat ice cream and drink booze last week… Needless to say, I am also in need of another round of w30 now and also had a splitting headache the past 2 days… We can do this! Not gonna be easy, but we got it 😉

    1. As I am now in day 3 I can honestly say I am literally having coffee creamer FANTASIES. I know I’m capable of doing this for 30 days, I think I’m going to need to start planning by around day 25 of how I’m going to reintroduce some of my “normal” foods back into my diet, otherwise I’m going to end up rolling around in ice cream and cheetos until I’m sick and chocolate covered on day 31.

      1. I’m not having fantasies yet because I unfortunately gave in today during an ice cream social at my work. Whoopsies. Guess its back to day 1 tomorrow! And yeah I definitely should have had a better reintroduction plan… And I probably shouldn’t have done the Whole 30 right before my vacation that had ice cream on every corner

Leave a Reply

