Whole 30 recipes that even I could make without burning my house down

julia childe

I’m no Julia Child, but I came up with a few tasty concoctions this week to help me stay with my Whole 30 plan, and not allow my taste buds to die of boredom.  I’m terrible with measuring spices as I feel everyone’s taste is different, and I’m even worse at writing out recipes.  But since I only cook things that have 5 or less steps or 10 or less ingredients, I’m pretty positive you can make these as well and enjoy them just as much as I did.

So I share them here for you, my loyal readers.  Each of the below made 5 servings that I divvied up and ate each day for lunch.  Remember, if you’re following Whole 30 the protein source is important, and be careful to read the labels on any seasonings you might use as many have sugar as an ingredient.

Enjoy!

Chicken with a Kick (for lettuce wraps or just to eat with a big side of veggies)

2 lbs ground chicken
Chili Powder
Cumin
Red Pepper Flakes
Salt
Pepper
Green Tabasco Sauce

Brown ground chicken in a large pan, using as much of all of the seasonings as you want.  I like spice, so I used lots of everything.  When the chicken is nearly done cooking, toss in Tabasco sauce to taste.  Again, I like spicy so I used about 2 tbsp.  Stir well to coat evenly and voila!  Taste explosion for your mouth.

Sautéed Veggies of Deliciousness

4 Zucchini Squash
2 large containers sliced mushrooms
1 large sweet onion
Garlic
Salt
Pepper

Chop all vegetables.  Throw some coconut oil with the garlic in a pan and heat it up, dump in veggies, cover in salt and pepper and sauté to desired done-ness.

These are really yummy with a side of the chicken above, or you can get creative and dice them up and serve them as a condiment in lettuce wraps for with the chicken.

Avocado Mango Salsa

4 Haas Avocados
4 tomatoes
2 Mangoes
1 Onion
Salt
Pepper
Chili Powder
Fresh Cilantro

This one is the easiest of them all.  Chop up all the ingredients, throw them in a bowl.  Salt, pepper and spice to taste.  I used a bunch of cilantro because I love it.  Toss everything together, cover it and put it in the fridge.  After 24 hours you get a great blend of flavors and it makes the perfect sweet/salty/spicy topping for pretty much anything, including the lettuce wraps I more or less lived on this week.

2 thoughts on “Whole 30 recipes that even I could make without burning my house down

  1. “You don’t have to cook fancy or complicated masterpieces – just good food from fresh ingredients. The only time to eat diet food is while you’re waiting for the steak to cook.”
    ― Julia Child

Leave a Reply

