7.16.2013

Warm Up: The yoga one from hell

Yep, super-pervy-but-we-love-him-anyway coach is back.  I actually paid attention today so the warm up is as follows:

Run 500
10 leg swings front to back/side to side each leg
10 hip circles in a runners lunge, 10 hamstring stretches each leg x2
Get into the bottom of a squat- put one hand on the ground the other overhead twisting 10x each side
Lean back, flip over, twist yourself up like a pretzel and do a nose to the ground push up x2 each side
Then from a crab walk position, throw your hips up and one arm back 2x each size
Haven’t fallen over yet?  Awesome.  Back to the bottom of a squat
Now to a down dog.
Divebomber, stay in the cobra and twist right to left 10x each side
Down dog
Knee to nose and kick back (in a down dog still) 10x each side
Still with me?  Cool, do another dive bomber
Ok now stand up and do 10 air squats
10 ankle circles each leg
10 knee circles each direction (teach me how to Dougie)
10 hip circles each way
10 spinal twists
10 arm circles front/back each side
10 wrist circles each way
and finally, 5 burpees

Your torture is finished.  Ta da!

SWOD: Front squat 5×5

1×10@33 warm up
3×5@53
1×5@58
1×5@63

It’s important for me to say here, I’m on day 9 of the Whole 30 and I am really zapped right now.  I had no idea how much crap I was putting into my body and how badly it was affecting me.  I do have more energy than I did late last week, but my strength is still really low.  I should have been able to work up to 83 or so on these lifts, but I simply didn’t have it today.  Thanks to sexy-soccer-girl for pushing me a bit, otherwise I wouldn’t have moved past 53.

WOD: Nasty Girls

3 RFT
50 Air Squats
7 Muscle Ups
10 Hang Power Cleans

Score: ??? with ring dips green band and @53

This was fun in that totally sadistic way.  I’ve wanted to do this workout since I first started CF, and when I saw it posted last night I was super excited as I knew I could finish it.  The air squats were rough, especially that last round, but I kept pep talking myself by reminding myself I have done Murph, I can get thru 150 squats.

This was also the first time I’ve tried ring dips.  Up until this point I’ve used the boxes.  I’m glad I used the rings.  There was a whole new level of challenge with stabilizing them, and I loved it.

Cleans are my favorite movement, and since they were from the hang I knew my back would be ok.  I would have liked to go heavier, but I’m still nursing that injury a bit.

All in all, awesome workout.  My only regret?  I didn’t even look at the clock when I collapsed at the end.  No idea my time.  Grumble.

Leave a Reply

