7.17.2013

Let me begin by saying, pervy-but-we-love-him-anyway coach is a seriously sadistic bastard.   But, as his nickname suggests, we love him anyway.  So here’s today’s report.

Warm Up:  The new fancy yoga one I posted about yesterday.

It’s still not fantastic.  I think if I covered my entire body with chalk on the front end there’s a chance I wouldn’t be slipping all over the floor by the end.  Maybe.  Probably not.

WOD:
Run 400
10 Toes to Bar
10 Kettlebell SDHP

Run 800
20 Toes to Bar
20 Kettlebell SDHP

Run 1200
30 Toes to Bar
30 Kettlebell SDHP

Time: 29:20 with knees to boobs and 25lb KB

This was rough.  Day 11 of Whole 30 = NO giddyup.  None.  Whatsoever.  Running the two warm up laps was a challenge, so I knew this was going to be a hard WOD.  When I saw it last night I started mentally pep talking myself right away, as I knew I would just have to pace myself, chip away at it, and get it done.

It was worse than I expected, but I really surprised myself.  I didn’t quit.  And I was able to string together my arguable excuse for toes to bar in sets of no less than 5.  Grip strength improving.

I ended up walking a lot of the 1200.  I didn’t love that, but my promise to myself became “run until you get tunnel vision and then you can walk again.”  During my first lap of the 1200 a classmate (sorry, I don’t actually remember who it was so no fun nickname here… feel free to identify yourself and I’ll edit.) ran by and asked how I was doing.  I growled something along the lines of, “I might die but I’m going to finish this workout.”

And finish it I did.

I was literally dead last by probably a solid 5-7 minutes.  In the end, I had the ENTIRE 6 a.m. class around me, shouting at me, cheering for me, urging me to finish.

I really felt like I was going to vomit.  Like, really really felt like I was going to vomit.  I even yelled at one point that I needed a break or I was going to vomit.

Pervy-but-we-love-him-anyway coach retorted, “Fine, then vomit.  But if you’re not puking your high pulling.  Now PICK UP THAT KETTLEBELL.”

So I did.   I can honestly say I’ve never been as happy to be done with anything as I was with this WOD.  I didn’t puke, but only because I seriously didn’t want to toss my cookies in front of 20 cheering onlookers.

Yes, I’m that vain.

So thanks guys.  See you again tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “7.17.2013

  1. i know exactly how you felt. i had a WOD like that a while back. i didn’t feel like i was going to vomit, but I wanted to cry. my coach said I could cry when I was done. it was nice having everyone cheer me on and give high fives when I finally crossed the damn finish line. congrats on persevering and getting it DONE! you rock!!

Leave a Reply

