7.18.2013

Yet again I won the battle with my alarm clock, but no matter, I was able to hit the box in the p.m. and still do work.

Warm Up:  Combo of the usual and the yoga from hell.  Super-awesome-girl-coach coached this one and a few of the other coaches actually did the workout.  Fun times.  That never happens at 6 a.m.

Mobility: partner shoulder stretching.  Always awesome to be sweaty and groping on someone you just met.  Luckily, it felt so good I didn’t care.

SWOD: Snatch Balance 5×2 and Snatch Pull/Snatch Deadlift 5×5

Snatch Balance:
1×2@ 33
3×2 @ 43
1×2 @ 48

Snatch Pull/Snatch Deadlift:
1×5@ 53
4×5@63

So I’ve got to be honest, I don’t really “get” the snatch deadlift.  I totally understand the snatch balance, and was really proud of myself with that effort.  The most I had ever done at this previously was just the 33 lb bar, but as my mobility and is improving I’m getting a lot more stable in the bottom of my squat.  I probably should have attempted this @53, but was happy with what I did.

The snatch deadlift just feels funny.  Granted, my back is still healing so I didn’t want to go too heavy.  The women I was sharing the bar with seemed to be pretty evenly matched with my strength, so we kept it light and worked on form.  I understand the concept of this movement, but when I’m doing it, it just feels weird.  I guess that’s why you practice it, as that is what the first part of the pull on my snatch is supposed to feel like.

I just said pull on my snatch and now I’m thinking about how uncomfortable that would be.

Let’s move on shall we?

WOD:
7 minute AMRAP
10 Burpees
10 Wall Balls

Score: 3 rounds with 10 lbs ball

I’m sure you’re getting sick of hearing me say this, but man Whole 30 is really zapping my juice.  This WOD was right up my alley, but after one round my heart was beating so HARD that I could feel my pulse in my eyeballs.  I’m serious, it was about to be like that scene in “Who Framed Rodger Rabbit” where his eyes popped out of his head.

So I ended up having to do everything in sets of 2-3.  After the first round my mantra became “just keep moving”.  There was lots of catching my breath and waiting for the tunnel vision to go away.

So here’s my plea.  PLEASE BODY figure out how to use my fat stores for fuel.  I’m not sure how many more of these feeling like shit run over by the lawnmower WOD’s I can take.

5 thoughts on “7.18.2013

  1. lol@ pull on snatch! You crack me up!

    Haven’t done snatch balance yet—but it looks like an interesting move to learn. I hope you get a boost in the juice with Whole30…sounds like a difficult spot to be in. Is it like running on empty…or just not having reserves when you need em during a tough WOD?

    Good luck! And Good job!

    • Hehe, so glad someone else got my humor there!

      Snatch balance is… interesting, that’s a good word. It absolutely forces you to get under the weight really fast or else you bonk yourself in the head or end up on your bum (I’ve done both).

      To answer your question, I guess it’s more like running on empty than anything. My energy is zero, and even a little activity makes my heart rate shoot up really fast. Scientifically, I think my body is looking for sugar to burn and can’t find any, so it’s trying to kill me rather than eat some of the fat in my ass for energy. God forbid we eat ass fat.

      Now, I’m not a doctor or a scientist, so that’s just my guess. Either way, they tell you this will happen during Whole 30. It’s supposed to get better in the 3rd and 4th weeks, so I’m hanging in there until it does.

      • Good luck in week 3 & 4!!!!

        Yeah, why can’t our bodies just eat any of that damn ass-fat, or thigh fat, or stomach fat for that matter!

        🙂 Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

