1 part sloth, 2 parts Rich Froning?

It makes me angry that I’m not fit enough to do everything I want to do.  If I had unlimited energy and didn’t have to worry about my body recovering, I would Crossfit 5 days a week, and ride my bike at least 4.  I would train for a half marathon and put in 60+ miles a week running, and for good measure would also swim 3-4 times a week so that I could do a triathlon if the fancy ever struck me.

I would go paddle boarding every weekend, surfing at least once a month, and rock climbing whenever someone wanted to come with me.

Not sure when I would sleep or crap, but those are totally not fun so they don’t really matter.

I’m sure you can see my dilemma.  Clearly, I’m not Rich Froning, therefore this level of activity is a bit out of my league.

Though I should take a moment to say, if I woke up one day and WAS Rich Froning, I probably wouldn’t leave the house.  I would stare at myself shirtless in the mirror for hours, touching my abs and marveling at the fact I really could use them to wash clothes.  Just saying.

crossfit-rich-froning

I was commenting about all this to the hubs last night (ok, so maybe I was whining), and he just started laughing at me.  I was a little miffed, but I had to know just what exactly he thought was so funny.

In the end, he was marveling that I was peeved that I can’t be MORE active.  We’ve known each other a long time, and “athletic” was never a word he would use to describe me.  But lately, lately it seems that I can’t get enough activity.  Every time I Crossfit, I talk about the next class or workout and how much I want to do XYZ.  Every time I ride I come home planning my next trip out because I have so much fun.

I’m stronger, faster and fitter than I’ve ever been before, and it makes me want more.

So much more that I get cranky when I can’t have it.

That’s a big change kids.  HUGE.  I used to only feel that way about sex and cupcakes.

So rather than crab about what I can’t do because I’m sore and tired and need rest, I’m going to try to focus on the mere fact that I want to do all of it.  Because that is one heck of an improvement.

5 thoughts on “1 part sloth, 2 parts Rich Froning?

  1. That’s a perfectly awesome thing to be crabby about.

    I would do the same if I was Rich Froning…everytime I see a picture of him, I just want to lick his abs. Yum…except if they were sweaty—yuck, well, maybe still would.

Leave a Reply

