Whole 30: Day 30 Report

Well hello kittens.  For anyone keeping track, today is Day 30.

Confession, I went off a bit on Friday and haven’t really come back “on” since, so truly, I only made it to day 26.  While there is a tiny part of me that’s disappointed for not making it the full 30 days, I’m not too terribly worried about it.

I believe that I gained what I hoped to from this program:  a better understanding of my eating habits, my emotional triggers, and how much alcohol I was actually consuming.

Here’s the deal, I didn’t take measurements on the front end because the very thought about made me want to cry.  Yeah, I get that I would probably enjoy the data and like knowing how many total inches I lost and all that jazz, but the thought of someone actually wrapping a tape measure around my thigh about made me physically ill.

So I decided not to put myself through that.

No matter, all the pants I was wearing when the Whole 30 started are too big now.  I know I’ve lost inches without having the hard data, and it feels great.

I also have lost a total net of 8 lbs.  At one point, because I was a naughty girl and weighed myself a handful of times, I was down about 10.  After some booze and “fun” food this weekend, it looks like I’ve leveled out around 8.

But truly, I don’t even care about the number on the scale.  My body is smaller and leaner, I have more energy, and I’ve seen some other great changes.

My skin is super clear.  My heartburn is completely gone.  I’ve only had one bout of insomnia in the past 30 days, and it was very early on in the challenge.

I’m happy.  Like, all the time.

Moving forward, there are habits I’ve changed that I plan to maintain.  There is no need to drink every night of the week.  While I certainly had some fun this past weekend, I would like to set a goal for myself of one night of drinking per week.  I was completely able to go out and have fun and not drink, which resulted in my sleeping better and having more energy the next day.  That is a habit I would like to keep.

I likely won’t ever reintroduce grain on purpose into my diet.  Sure, I won’t be as neurotic about gluten as I’ve been these past 30 days, but my stomach is happier than I’ve ever known it to be.  I haven’t missed it much at all, and see no reason to add in something that clearly has been causing me irritation for years.

But you better believe I’m having sushi like, ASAP.  Rice.  Nom nom nom.

In summary, I was happy to do the Whole 30 and happy to have a great group to do it with.  I’m not going to like or sugar coat it, it was really hard for me.  I’m not sure I’ll ever do it again, but I WILL take the things I’ve learned from it and use them often as I continue on this path to fitness and health.

2 thoughts on “Whole 30: Day 30 Report

Leave a Reply

