8.14.2013

Hit the 5:30 p.m. class today after doing a quick 8.5 mile lunch ride with a small group.  It felt really good to spin out the legs over lunch, and I was excited about the WOD from the minute I saw it on the website.  I don’t often get really intimidated by WOD’s anymore, but this one scared me.  So of course, I had to do it.

Warm Up:  The usual.  God it was hot.  I had sweat dripping off my face half way through.  I was not alone.

Coach split us into two groups, those who could pull up and those who don’t yet have them.  I’m in the not yet group.  We went over the scaling variations, ring rows, jumping and band assisted.  I decided for the WOD I would do the first round jumping and the second round with ring rows.

As a side note, I need to practice band assisted.  I know I can do them, but I have trouble getting in and out of the bands on my own.  If I could master that, I would start doing them that way during workouts where it’s an option.

WOD:  Thanks to super-awesome-girl-coach for this chipper

10 burpees
20 pull ups
30 kb swings
40 wall balls
50 sit ups
60 OH Lunges with the wall ball
50 sit ups
40 wall balls
30 kb swings
20 pull ups
10 burpees

Time: 26:24 with jumping pull ups and ring rows, 25 lbs kb, 10 lbs med ball

Here’s the sadistic moment where I admit this was a lot of fun.  And by fun I mean that I felt like I was going to vomit by half way through the first round of wall balls and somehow managed to finish without actually tossing my cucumbers (since I’m not eating cookies at the moment.)

Handstand-push-up-guy who usually goes to 6 a.m. was there for the class, and he’s been out for awhile traveling the world and doing fabulous enviable stuff.  Going into the workout he said he might need an extra push, so I set up my KB “face off” style with him.  Turned out this was a good idea.  We cheered eachother on through the suck, and since he’s about a hundred times a stronger athlete than I, I had someone to focus on chasing from a rep standpoint.

The first round of everything went really well.  I broke both the swings and the wall balls into sets of 10s, did the sit ups straight through for 50, and then broke the lunges into sets of 10 as well.  The descending round is where the wheels started to come off a bit.  The sit ups I did in 2 sets of 25, wall balls went to sets of 5 and the swings I did in sets of 8, minus the last one that was a set of 6.  The last set of ring rows were sets of 5 and the burpees were literally just get down there, ok now get back up, ok now do it again.

When it was all said and done, I was really happy with my performance.  I initially thought I should have gone heavier on the wall balls (and potentially the kb swings), but by the descending round I was pretty confident I had chosen the right weight.

Love the Wednesday WOD’s.  They make me feel so badass.

2 thoughts on “8.14.2013

Leave a Reply

