8.16.2013

Thank goodness for making a pact with handstand-push-up-guy that I was coming this morning at 6 a.m., otherwise I would totally have given my mattress more love.

When I woke up my shoulders, abs, quads and achillies in my right foot were all sore… figured it made sense to go and deadlift, box jump, toes to bar and do some ball slams so that I would hurt everywhere tomorrow.

Warm Up:  Pretty much the usual.  Captian America was coaching so we did a few of the things in different order or more/less reps.

SWOD:  Deadlift x3
Warm Up:  10 RDL @33
Warm Up:  10 @83

1×3@ 103
1×3@123
1×3@ 133

I feel like we did one more set than that, but I know that we worked to 133.  It felt heavy and I was happy not doing any more with how sore I already am.

WOD:  12 minute AMRAP
10 box jumps
15 toes to bar
20 slam balls

Score:  3+28 with knees to boobs and 20 lbs slam ball

Other than my hands feeling like someone was holding them over a fire and dumping battery acid over them the entire time I was doing toes to bar, this was fun.  I officially have two blisters on my left and one on my right, and they hurt.  Here’s hoping a day of rest over the weekend will give them time to turn into manly meaty callouses so that I can stop complaining.

 

4 thoughts on “8.16.2013

  1. I just stumbled onto your blog and laughed because yesterday I was SO close to staying in my (much more comfortable) bed instead of course out for my run. Thankfully I had a long distance run date planned and that was the ONLY thing that got me out of bed.

    1. Accountability partners are really amazing, aren’t they? I try to tell at least one person a day that I will meet them in class at 6 a.m… that way I have more than just the alarm clock trying to help me out of bed in the morning.

      1. I couldn’t agree more! I guess it isn’t hard to let myself down, but I don’t want to let someone else down ;). Your motivation for cross fit is kind of motivating! I’ve seen it all over the blog world and haven’t taken the leap myself…

      2. It’s definately an emerging form of fitness/sport. My background before it was triathlon, but I had been out of it for 2 years, gained a bunch of weight, and had too big of an ego to start over with my fitness at something I used to be really good at.

        I went to Crossfit on a whim, and now nearly a year later, I am freaking hooked.

Leave a Reply

