Free entertainment with $50 copay

bad parenting

When I close my eyes it feels like my eyeballs are going to “flame on” and burn a hole through my eyelids.

Oh the joy of running a fever.

It would seem that my unfortunate favorite pastime of licking the shopping cart handles at my local Wal-Mart has caught up to me and yet again, I’m sick.

This time I managed to escape without my typical strep throat, but I’m still stuck with a nasty sinus infection coupled with tonsillitis and a cough that could wake the dead.   According to the doc I’m in for 17-20 days of this fun, but he took pity on me and gave me some cough syrup with the good drugs in it, so at least I get to be in a coma for a solid 50% of it.

Luckily, trips to the doctor (ie our friendly neighborhood urgent care clinic) always result is some excellent stories, so you my readers are in luck.

People watching at the doctor’s office is pretty much some of the best people watching around.  Yesterday was no exception.

As I was filling out my paperwork, a woman about my age entered with six (count them SIX) children ranging in ages from two to eight.  That’s a lot of back to back procreation my friends.  The two eldest needed to get their physicals for school.  She and her brood sat down so that she could fill out paperwork and for the next 10 minutes I witnessed what could only be described as the seventh circle of hell.

Was it the seventh?  Is that the one where screaming waterfighting minions take over?  Maybe that’s the fourth.  No matter…

Her six children ran screaming through the waiting room.  They discovered the drinking fountain, and proceeded to have a water fight.  They climbed on chairs and counters, then jumped off exclaiming that they could fly.  Their mother didn’t even look up, or bat an eye.

I cowered in the corner for fear they might start breathing fire or announce their plans to take over the world.

At this point, one of the nurses came out and told the kids they could not behave that way.  She explained to the parent, and her children, that jumping off the furniture was dangerous and could cause accidents, and that having water all over the floor in a medical facility was a real hazard.  The nurse then proceeded to get paper towels from the bathroom to clean up the mess, all while keeping a watchful eye on the children.

Only when she finally walked away did the mother finally speak up.

What pearls of wisdom did she have for her children?  How did she use this moment to teach them the appropriate way to behave?

She hollered at them, “Ya’ll are so BAD!  I hate all of you!  I can’t take you anywhere.  They always ask me to leave because of you.  Is that FAIR?  IS IT?”

Her children were quiet for a solid 10 seconds before they started their antics again and she went back to ignoring them.

I was more grateful than I can even describe that I had my headphones with me.  While children make me crazy, in this particular instance, it was the mother I wanted to throttle.

16 thoughts on “Free entertainment with $50 copay

    • I totally understand that some people want a big family, and can see where wrangling that many little ones would be hugely challenging… but in this case it just made me sad for the kiddos.

      Here’s hoping she’s a good mom in general and was just having an off day.

  1. Oh sweet lord. . . I work at a walk-in center and this entire Summer I’ve been driving myself MAD with parents and their children. Just like you mentioned, most of the time it’s the parents that get to me, the poor kiddos don’t know any better!

    • And the kiddos won’t ever know any better if their parents don’t tell them.

      I just got to spend the weekend with my nephew and sister and I will tell you what, if he even THOUGHT about stepping out of line she was all over it, correcting the behavior. Not only that, but she was praising and reaffirming when he was well behaved.

      That’s not to say she’s a great parent, but I can’t imagine just letting your kids run amok.

      Then again, that’s probably why I don’t have any of my own. My give-a-shit would run out way before their need to be parented did.

  2. Sorry you are sickly! And OH MY about the family insanity. Sadly some people should not be allowed to have kids. My kids are the kids looking at those kids and saying WTH?/!!?? Good parenting that my kids know better? Or bad parenting cause they are saying WTH! LOL. Ok they aren’t saying it but their faces are 😀

    • Yeah, that’s good parenting in my oponion. When they actually KNOW better, that means someone had to take the time to teach them what a hot freaking mess those 6 little hellions are.

      10 points for you, good momma!

  3. Sorry you are ill and had poor parenting to deal with but I just want to say: as I was scrolling down the screen I came upon a picture of a toddler and a blow up doll and my first thought is “I know who this blog belongs to!”

  4. Yikes! No bueno on the flu!! Hope you feel better soon. 🙂 Additionally, my sister has 5 (FIVE) children under the age of 5 and I think she is absolutely nuts, but she somehow seems to make it all work. Thankfully, they’re pretty well behaved for youngsters, but they still managed to give me hell when I watched all of them for a few hours. I’m pretty sure they did every single thing that my sister told me to not let them do. Oh well, that’s why I’m Auntie and not Mommy. 🙂

      • Haha, you would think so. 🙂

        Yeah, the older I get, the more I question if I actually want children. Maybe I’ll just adopt a 17 year old and put them through college, then they’ll have to take care of me when I’m old. Seems like a good trade, right? 🙂

      • Not to me. I was a freaking monster at 17.

        I guess I’m lucky in that I’ve always known I don’t want kids. I know a lot of women in their mid to late 30s who change their minds, but I know that won’t be me.

        I just don’t have that instinct.

        I dont even have a dog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

