9.23.2013

Back at the 6 a.m. class.  I inadvertently took all of last week off. It was one of those scenarios where I overslept most every morning and told myself I would go that night, and inevitably something came up nightly that prevented me from attending.

As much as I’m not happy with myself for that, it was good to get a reminder of why I get up at 5:30 every morning and get my butt there.  That is the BEST time for me and when it best fits my schedule.  It sucks, but I’m now even more resolute in the fact that I need to make it happen daily.

Warm Up:  The usual.  I’m still not running.  My right heel is SCREAMING.  More on that later, but I have a feeling I’m going to be a rowing Godess for more than a little while.

SWOD:
Snatch Balance 4×3
Pendlay Row 4×8

Snatch Balance:
1×3@33
1×3@43
2×3@53

YAY!  PR on the Snatch balance for me and it was freaking easy.  I’ve known for some time now that if I can just gain some confidence with my OHS that I will gain a lot in my snatch as well.  Previously 43 was the heaviest I had ever attempted on this movement and without a lot of confidence.

All that said, I did fail one rep in the final set and it took several more failures before I calmed myself down enough to land a few good reps.  When I get nervous and don’t get under the bar fast enough I have a tendency to come forward on my toes.  Bad form.  Keep practicing.

Pendlay Row:
1×8@33
1×8@63
1×8@83
???

Having never done these before I did a practice set with just the bar.  I’m not sure what happened to my 4th set, but I think I didn’t do it?  We had three people in our group and everyone else had two, so I think when I saw everyone else putting their stuff away I thought I was done.  Oof.  I’m a little cranky with myself for this, as these are supposed to help with pull ups.

Then again, it was 6 in the morning.  It’s possible I did the 4th set and just don’t remember it.  But I’m usually pretty good about that.

WOD:
12 minute AMRAP
60 lunges
50 sit ups
40 push ups
30 wall balls
20 pull ups
10 burpees

Score: 211 with RR

YAY I got through the whole chipper plus one rep!  I honestly didn’t think I would make it all the way through, so I was happy to complete it.

I did the lunges walking, as I really need to practice those.  As in times before, my knee doesn’t go all the way to the ground but I’m getting better.  My balance is definitely improving.

The push ups were super hard after the sit ups, not so much in my arms but in my core!  I was amazed how I kept doing the like, stripper back wiggle thing instead of holding myself tight because my abs were all tingly.  After a few bad reps I got it straightened out, but it just surprised me.  That’s not where those should hurt.

Otherwise everything went about how I thought it would.  Great first day back.  Love AMRAPs, love chippers and love the gymnastic movements.

11 thoughts on “9.23.2013

  1. Nice job! We call it “Worming” but maybe it should be called the “Push and Bend” haha. I do it too when I get really tired and I really have to concentrate. But if your feeling it in your core it means your keeping your back straight. I love Pendlay rows-we just did them on Saturday after Oly lifting.

  2. I’m amazed you got all the way through; that is awesome!!
    I only got to about 11 wall balls. Honestly, the push ups did me in, and then I could barely hold the ball. And I lost count of how many walls…..I usually lose count. I either did 59 or 61 lunges, I’m sure! But afterwards, I did 10 ring rows just because I was looking forward to them & didn’t get to do them.
    But we showed up & did it, didn’t we?!?!

    • That’s a great attitude! The push ups nearly did me in as well. I had to break them into sets of 5, and after the first 20 had to go to my knees. My arms just weren’t having it after the snatch balances.

  3. I have to go at 6 AM before my brain is caffeinated and realizes what I’m doing. If I wait and am really awake, I can come up with 4,683,295 excuses per hour on why I can’t make a later class. It is early or nothing for me and I know my limitations. So even on days off work when I could sleep in, I get up and go.

Leave a Reply

