Goal 1: Set some goals

goals

After a week off, I went back to my beloved Crossfit today.  I would be lying if I said I didn’t miss it.  I would also be lying if I said that I had done nothing but lay around lazily and be a slob.

Yes, I was a week out of the box, but I still rode and lifted weights at a “normal gym” and actually really enjoyed the routine.  It was fun doing push/pull/legs days and being one of the only girls in the weight room.  It was exciting doing my own programming.  I even surprised myself by sticking some stuff in there that I hate (burpees and plank rows anyone?)

I didn’t take the week off on purpose, but in hindsight I’m really glad I did.  It’s amazing what we learn about ourselves when we’re not even trying.

Coach sent me a text on Saturday telling me my CF family missed me and that I needed to come back to the box and keep working towards my goals.  Great motivation.  When I arrived bleary eyed and not in the mood to talk to ANYONE this morning he came over and welcomed me back.

Then, in his total “dude” language he said something pretty profound.  “You told me what you goals are six months ago and I’m here to help hold you accountable.  I’m here to help you achieve them.”

Half asleep and crabby I’m pretty sure I snapped at him that I didn’t need a lecture and told him to bug me some other time.

But now, hours later and fully conscious, his comment is really with me.  I think everyone struggles with lapses in motivation, which is why goal setting is so important.  You might not want to get out of bed, or show up and do work that day, but you will always ALWAYS want to achieve your short and long term goals.

So what are mine?

Um, I must have had some right?  If coach knows what they are then surely they exist.  But in my unmotivated of late state, I don’t really remember what they are.

Lose weight of course, always first and foremost for me, but to be successful I probably need to put more thought into it than that.  And I’m sure there’s some performance related ones out there somewhere…

And now it’s clear to all of us, I don’t really have any goals.  I know I’ve blogged from time to time about improving on certain skills and whatnot, but I’ve never actually done much with it.

The time for that is over.  So I introduce you to… da da da daaaaaa… the newly added “Goals”  page here on the site.  It will be ever changing for certain, but I will spend some time today populating it with short and long term goals, action steps and timelines.

So hold me accountable!  Cheer me on!  And like my amazing coach, feel free to remind me when my actions aren’t exactly supporting the goals that I’ve committed to reaching.

**Note- Yeah, there’s going to be weightloss stuff on there.  Please spare me any lectures about “ignoring the number on the scale.”  I get it, I really do.  But at this point, I have weight to lose.  Sure, if I lose 10 pounds and love everything about the size and shape of my body I might decide that I don’t want to achieve the full goal I’ve set, but let’s cross that bridge when we come to it.  I have a pretty good idea of what my body looks like at many different weights, and I’m taking into account the fact that I have significantly more muscle than I ever have before.

21 thoughts on “Goal 1: Set some goals

      1. Ugh. I’ve made a goal’s post, but I haven’t really been concentrating on meeting my goals. I went gung ho for about a week, but… I know this is one of those “all in my own head” problems, but I feel super awkward staying after class or coming in early to hang from the rig with some rubber bands or do push ups or something. I’ll have to get over it.

      2. If it makes you feel any better, I kind of feel the same way.

        A lot of what I want to get better at are things I can work on at home though, so in my case that’s helpful.

        That said, I bet if you do it once or twice you will end up getting coaching because people can’t help themselves but to want to help. Let’s do this together. I want my first pull up BAD. I know you do too. 🙂

  1. I love that-I may actually make a goal page right now! I think for something like Crossfit, since it’s so multi faceted, having goals is important to help us stay on track and pick something to focus on for awhile.

      1. I’ve gotten to the point where I just train weaknesses-sometimes I need to remember I AM good at something’s and go crush those once in awhile lol!!

  2. Coach Dude is rockin. How does he always know the right thing to say? He’s the bomb.
    I should set some goals, too. Hmmm, I wonder what they would be!

    Off topic: Are you going on Sat to the competition? I’m volunteering; can’t wait! Such a nerd:)

    1. All of our coaches are truly SO amazing. I can’t say enough about them, but yeah 6 a.m. coach speaks total “Nicole.”

      I’m going to come and cheer Saturday. I totally wanted to volunteer but frankly, I woudn’t be able to “no rep” someone and I would just get stressed out about the responsibility. So instead I will bring lawn chairs and posters and tequila.

      1. Well, considering I am so new that I am completely ignorant as to what volunteering will entail, I figured it sounded like fun. But I will find out at the meeting Wed.
        You are the 3rd person I’ve seen mention tequila. Yikes! I definitely will not be partaking in that. But I might bring some yummy gluten-filled non-paleo craft beers & I look forward to the heckling (since I don’t follow Paleo).

      2. You will likely only get mildly heckeled. 🙂

        Volunteering will be a lot of fun. Chances are you will be helping to set up stuff, as well as be judging athletes as they compete. You will be counting their reps and verifying that every rep is a good one (ie, on squats they break parallel, that kind of stuff.)

        It will be a great time.

        And tequila is totally paleo. 🙂

      3. BUT…I am also bringing some nummy paleo vinegar coleslaw with carrots & sliced almonds – all homemade!

      4. Sounds awesome! I have no idea what I’m bringing yet other than booze, but will probably go with a paleo pepperochini pulled pork recipe I stole from a fellow blogger awhile back. Major yums.

Leave a Reply

