That’s what I get for putting my bum in the air

pick up line

I’m pretty sure I got hit on at Globo Gym today.  That, or he was hitting on my hot friend Blondie and I just happened to get lumped into his flirtatious mix.

I’ve been married for 10 years.  Unless they bang me over the head with a club and drag me off to their cave, it’s unlikely I’ll realize when I’m being flirted with until well after the fact unless they’re being pretty darn blatant about it.

So yeah, it’s safe to say, we got hit on.

Blondie and I were getting our lunchtime sweat on and the dude made a comment about how he kept watching us because we had “such great form,” or something like that.

Mind you, half of what we were doing involved being bent over with our bums in the air, so yeah, I’m sure it was our form he was watching.

I’m naturally a pretty confident person so the comment didn’t phase me all that much, but I have to admit for the rest of our workout I was aware of where this dude was, and was more conscious of not making girly grunt noises than usual.

I can’t remember the last time I felt this way working out.  I actually felt self conscious.

When I think back to my fitness routine pre-Crossfit, I honestly don’t think I ever went in the “boys” section of the gym.  I might have used a handful of the weight machines, but usually got my exercise fix with cardio.  When I started Crossfit, I remember having to be shown everything.  Something as simple as how to rack the weights, use the collars, remove the weight plates or even how to carry the barbell were simply things I didn’t know.

The amazing thing is, I learned from the people around me.  Not only that, but not once was I made to feel stupid or made to feel like the dude (or girl) showing me had anything but friendly intentions.

While we may joke and say not so appropriate things to each other now that I know everyone much better, I can honestly say I don’t think I’ve ever been hit on at Crossfit.

And I love that.

I feel like every day I’m a part of my Crossfit community is a day that I discover something new I love about it.  This is so much more than just exercise, and something as silly as a flirty guy at the regular gym reminds me why I love leaving my “ego at the door and sweat on the floor” every day with people who are in it for the same thing I am… to just be better.

17 thoughts on “That’s what I get for putting my bum in the air

    1. Truthfully, the only reason I am so comfortable now is because of Crossfit. I am really confident that I know how to use the equiptment, that my form is excellent, and that everything I’m doing is right.

      I think having a little confidence when you walk over there goes a long way towards making you just inherrently feel more comfortable. 🙂

      1. I’m confident on how to use the equipment, I’m just self conscious about judgy-judgersons (which I know is stupid). So I think you are right- just have a little confidence when I walk over (and I can always fake it till I make it)!

  1. I am actually looking forward to when I am in super good shape and can make the ladies heads turn! (I am not married but have a GF I am super happy with, but being a fat kid all of my life, I wouldn’t mind knowing I ‘have it’ hahaha)

  2. I totally agree with you about the Crossfit atmosphere. In all the sports/workout stuff I’ve done, I’ve never encountered as many genuinely supportive and helpful people as I have in Crossfit. I’m new at it and I suck at a lot of stuff (I’m thrilled that, after 2 months, I can finally do a “real” pushup)–but no one has ever been anything but supportive and encouraging. Pretty cool!

    1. I’m so glad to hear your experience has been so similar to mine.

      And let me just say WOOO HOOOO PUSH UPS!!! I got my first one about two months in. Before that I was bungee chorded like crazy and still coudn’t get my bewb muscles to get me back up there.

  3. I never thought about it until you mentioned it. Looking back, I was always self-conscious when I lifted at the gym. Now, I truly don’t care! Maybe it has to do with the fact that I go to the 0600 class and am barely awake enough to care! 😉

    1. I would also suggest, at CF we ALL throw around heavy weights. So you’re not the girl in the weight room anymore. No reason to be self conscious. Now you’re just a badass. 🙂

Leave a Reply

