10.7.2013

Dear 5:30 a.m.,

Why do you feel so much earlier on Monday than you do on Friday?

Love, Me

Made it to class this morning, and finally started waking up about half way through strength.  In the end I am SO happy I went, but getting out of bed was a cranky experience for sure.

Warm Up:  The usual (row 400, leg swings, 10 air squats, 5 side lunges each leg, 5 inch worms, 5 chair sits each leg, 10 toy soldiers, 10 t swings, 10 scorpions)

Mobility:  T spine with double LX balls and broom stick.  My left side is sticking and has been for a few weeks now.  I have a nasty knot back there.  Might be time for a massage.

SWOD:  Tall snatch 5×3
5×3@33lbs

These suck.  Ok, so that’s an exaggeration.  It’s probably much more fair to say, this is a drill I need to continue to practice.

I know I lean forward and come up on my toes when I snatch, and this drill makes it so SO obvious.  As long as I keep the weight super light I can usually correct when I’m in my squat and not fall forward, but not always.

So today I really tried to focus on NOT coming forward so that the correction wasn’t needed.  Coach was really helpful with that too, even though part of his “help” included him standing 6 inches in front of me and telling me not to hit him with the bar on the way down.

Thank god I didn’t, but I kept having visions of losing my balance and falling forward and face planting in his crotch.  Talk about embarrassing.

WOD:

5 RFT
5 DB snatch R
10m farmers carry R
10 DB snatch L
10m farmers carry L

Time: 5:15 @25 lbs for 2 rounds and 30 lbs for last 3 rounds

When we warmed up the snatches I had initially grabbed a 20 lbs db and realized right away it was too light.  Coach made all of us grab a heavier one, so I went with 25.

3-2-1 and go and I flew through the first round of the workout.  I actually think I was on my way down for the first farmers carry of the second round when people were still coming back.  I had a brief thought that my weight might still be too light before then, but when I saw that I realized I had went WAY too light.

Luckily, coach realized it too and had a 30 lbs db waiting for me on my way back.

*whispers* I should have done 35.

In my defense, I SWEAR I wasn’t sandbagging this.  The last time we did this movement I used a 20 lbs dumbbell and while I think the sets were a little longer, the weight was HEAVY and I was the last to finish that workout.  Granted that workout also contained wall balls which continue to be my nemesis… but I digress.

That said, I’m SUPER excited because this tells me a few things.  One, I’m getting stronger.  Two, my form on my snatches is likely getting better (these felt smoother than they ever have before), so I’m able to do more weight more efficiently.  And finally, three, I continue to underestimate myself.

Filing this info away for next time we do DB snatches.

Cool Down: 1000m row ~ 5 minutes

6 thoughts on “10.7.2013

  1. I totally hear you on the Saturday thing–I’ve done it once and had horrible flashbacks to PE class. And I apologized to my 30-year-old muscle-y male partner for being stuck with an almost-50-year-old clumsy woman. But it went fine, so I’ll be back! And I SO want to do Sally–I’ve had the song on my iPod since I saw your video. I’ve mentioned it to our coaches, but so far no luck…

    • As long as we don’t have to run or do Wall Balls, I can usually hang.

      Which means we will inevitably run and do wall balls any Saturday I work up the nerve to go! 🙂

      Good luck on Sally. I’ve heard that some coaches are programming it as the “buy in” for workouts, while others (like mine) are simply doing it as the WOD. Lots of options there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

