Whole 30 Strikes Again

So, remember when I finished my last Whole 30 challenge and I said I would never do it again?

Yeah, I lied.

Over the past few weeks I’ve made some great changes to get myself moving in the right direction again nutritionally, but have found that I have a tendency to eat my feelings, and massive quantities of chocolate and cheese, on the weekends.

Turns out Patty over at Patty Gets Fit, who also happens to also be a badass chick who also attends my box, kicked off her own Whole 30 this week.  Since I’m a sucker for a support system, I asked if she wanted some company in the challenge and joined her today.

Of course, I first made the time to give myself some serious fondue and wine love last night.  I mean, gotta start this bugger off right after all.

So today marks Day 1.  Unlike last time, I know what to expect and am going into this mentally prepared.  For me, Whole 30 was pretty awful until 3 weeks in and will likely be the same this time around.

However, this time around I have different goals than last time.  Last time was about just surviving it.  This time, I need to learn something from it.  This time around I won’t simply slip back into bad habits as soon as this sucker is over.  I need to pay attention to how much better my body feels and even more importantly, I need to use this knowledge to fuel my desire to be good to myself all the time.

With my training volume kicking up through the winter, I need to make sure I’m eating enough and enough of the right things to keep myself healthy, sleeping well, and of course, losing weight.

As with before, I fully anticipate the biggest hurdle I will battle will be alcohol as it relates to my social life, but this time around I have the tools to stick with the plan and still have a good time.

Be prepared for some crabby WOD posts my readers.  As I’m only in the early hours of Day 1 I’m still feeling pretty good at the moment, but I think we all know that my desire to “kill all the things” lurks just around the corner.

21 thoughts on “Whole 30 Strikes Again

    1. Totally a start. A lot of it makes a lot of sense. Until I was introduced to the concept I never realized how sensitive I am to both wheat and dairy. I am a textbook case for the symtomps of the sensitivity.

      Doesn’t always stop me from snarfeling down cheese, but at least I know when I have a sinus headache and raging heartburn for three days after why it’s happening.

      1. I do a bit of cheese, but no other dairy (from my vegan days), I haven’t been doing a lot of meat either, but thinking about it. The grains will definitely be hard to give up. Have you tried cauliflower rice? Any good?

      2. It sounds like it would be a pretty big change for you then. As I’m sure you know, the general guidelines of the program are meat, veggies, nuts and oils, limited fruit. No grains, diary or legumes. No sugar (read labels, everything has it… even my seasoning salt), and no processed foods. No alcohol. You can eat as much of the approved items as you want, and will need to eat a lot of protien in order to stay full/not stabby.

        Cauliflower rice tastes like cauliflower. 😀 For me, I don’t really see the point of replacing something with something else, becuase it makes me crave what I’m replacing even more. Not sure if that makes sense, but I usually wouldn’t eat something like cauliflower rice as it would just make me really want rice. I would rather not go through all the hard work, and eat the cauliflower instead. But of course, everyone is different. I’ve seen some really tasty Whole 30 recipes that have zuchinni “noodles” and whatnot that I would try.

      3. Not that much of a change as I’m not doing oils, limiting grains (mostly only rice and rice noodles when I eat them) and legumes (obviously). I’ve been craving chicken lately and had some salmon 2 weeks ago. Is quinoa allowed? Sorry about all my questions, I guess I really should be reading more about it instead of bugging you! 🙂

      4. No worries, I don’t mind answering. Oils are actually ok in certain forms- coconut for cooking and olive for dressings. I think there are others allowed, but I can’t remember. Quinoa isn’t allowed as it’s a grain. No rice either.

        The website is here: http://www.whole9life.com/category/whole-30/ and the “Can I have” list is here: http://www.whole9life.com/2013/06/the-official-can-i-have-guide-to-the-whole30/

        Both are really helpful. I encourage you to check out the program. The materials to do it are free, and the website has a ton of great info on not just how it works, but WHY we should be eliminating these things from our diet.

    1. Thanks! It is a great plan from a nourishing your body standpoint… but it’s not a great plan if you like cupcakes and wine. It, however, is the best thing for my body so I just need to keep reminding myself that.

  1. Gosh, now I feel like I should join you for some support. I’ve never done a full Whole 30, always had cheat days (err, weekends). I might have to home on the Whole 30 Train with y’all!

    1. Hop on! Check out the program and if you decide to do it, get yourself prepared a day before to start. I admit, it’s pretty darn restrictive- but that’s the point. 30 days of only putting things your body needs in it, and none of the crap. It requires some planning ahead, so make sure you hit the grocery store and think through your meals and snacks before you officially start (which is not what they advise on the webiste, so that’s just my two cents).

      If you do decide to do it, let me know! I’m alwys here for support. 🙂

  2. Good luck! Ha, i just had a completely opposite moment where I was like “um, I don’t think this non paleo thing is working for me.” BUT I do avoid gluten as much as possible and only do light dairy-some goat cheese, maybe some greek yogurt once in awhile. Having a support system is really helpful-when my husband eats the same as i do, it makes it soo much easier

    1. Oh non paleo definately doesn’t “work” for me from a health/wellness/weight loss perspective. But sweet lord I love food. And I love starchy carby sugary food more than any other food in the world. So I’m battling more than a few demons when I choose scrambled eggs over pancakes.

  3. Good for you! We’re a little less than 30 days from the END of our 60 day PRIMAL challenge. Which is virtually the same, (except ours allows greek yogurt, white potatoes, rice, POST WOD, and natural peanut butter…mmm). I haven’t actually eaten any of them except the natural peanut butter.

    I feel like the only way I’ve gotten through this is to EAT AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE of the approved foods. I mean, I don’t have a lunch bag I bring to work, it’s a MEDIUM SIZED COOLER. Lol. But it’s all about being prepared! We can also have coffee, which makes me very happy.

    I’ve realized that I’m fine without all the starchy, carby foods….and my skin looks better without alcohol….isn’t that weird. I’ve lost about 7lbs….so if that’s any motivation….GO GET IT GIRL.

    I’ll finish out my last 24 days with you!

  4. The Whole Life Challenge is a bit different than Whole 30 but I’m finding all sorts of new and different things to eat. I don’t really know what you can and can’t have, but what I miss the most is pasta. No potatoes hasn’t been as much of a problem, but that pasta … and chocolate, too. I love chocolate. But I have 8 weeks instead of 30 days. Lord have mercy.

    You can do it but you do have to plan for it.

    1. Thanks for the support! For me, it will be booze. I actually don’t mind not having grains and sweets, but cheese and booze are my downfalls. Buuuuut it will be awesome to have a month with no hangovers. The last time I did this I went from drinking most every night of the week to only twice a week now. I just realized that I could be social and have fun without needed to add alcohol to the mix, so it should be easier to give up this time around.

Leave a Reply

