10.11.2013

For some reason it’s always so much easier for me to get up at 6 a.m. on Friday.  Maybe it’s because I know if I don’t get my butt out of bed in the morning I’m cutting into my Friday night festivities because I then will need to go at night?

Regardless, 6 a.m. today.  I didn’t check the workout before I came in and it’s probably a good thing.  I planned on changing after class and meeting a few other cyclists for a quick ride before work and had I checked the WOD I likely would have bailed.

Warm Up:  Usual stuff.  Sweet mother of god I’m sore from all those squats.

Mobility:  “Door frame stretch.”   Wow, imagine that, those hurt like a bugger too.

SWOD:  Bench Press (I feel like there should be a “bro” after that) 4×8
1×10 @ 33 warm up
1×8@ 53
1×8 @ 63
2×8@68 PR

For some reason I had it in my head that I could bench a LOT more than this, but upon checking my records, the last time we did it I benched 63 for 10 reps.  So yay for a PR!

In truth, I could have gone heavier than what I did by a bit.  I never really got stuck or struggled on a rep, so next time I’ll push for more weight.

WOD: “Beat Your Partner”
Partner 1 runs 600m while Partner 2 rows
Rest 1 minute then switch
x3

Score: 2311m with myself biking .75 mile instead of running

With heavy legs this was a kind of tough workout.  I was paired with Super Stylist and we both totally killed it.  When I am able to run, she and I are a really similar speed, and because she kept her pace so consistent on each of the three rounds, I got about the same yardage each time around.  I kept my pace slow and steady, between 2:15 and 2:20 as these ended up being just over 3 minute rounds of rowing.

On the airdyne I hated everything about life.  That thing sucks.  But every time I wanted to slow down I would see my partner and think that I needed to get it over with so she could stop rowing.  I averaged around 17 mph (again, I think that’s off but ok) and finished my rounds around 2:20-2:30 each time.

Right after class I went and rode with my ladies, a quick 9 miles at a nice slow 16 mph pace.  My legs were really grateful for the spin.

7 thoughts on “10.11.2013

Leave a Reply

