10.12.2013

Hit up the Saturday class to get my 5x in this week.  I admit, getting up and getting moving on the weekend is always a challenge, but I’m always so glad when I suck it up and get it done.

Warm Up:  The usual.  Gorgeous weather outside so we did most of it outdoors.  Nice change, though it is still hot!

Skill:  Rope Climbs

Seeing as heights scare the cwap out of me, these are something I haven’t yet attempted.  I’ve done a few foot lock drills, which is what we worked on today.  I got my feet in place and stood up on the rope several times from the box.  However, once we took the box away my feet couldn’t remember what to do.  I think I’m over my fear of getting into position on the rope though, so I will keep practicing that.

Now actually climbing it is a totally separate story!

WOD:
15 minute AMRAP

5 hang power cleans

10 thrusters
15 burpees

20 sit ups

1 rope climb (or rope pull)

Score: 3+10 @ 53 lbs

YAY thrusters!  Ok so I don’t really mean that, but it was still a super fun WOD.  And actually, I was REALLY proud of myself for doing these at 53 lbs.  My initial instinct was to use the training bar and add weight, but I knew that I have done them heavier more than once and wanted the challenge.

Besides, Rx Fran is at 65 and I won’t ever get there if I don’t keep pushing myself.

The thrusters ended up being, by far, the hardest part of this workout.  The hang cleans were actually pretty light for me, and I did every set of those unbroken.  First round of thrusters went unbroken as well, but after that I broke them up so I didn’t die.

What both pleased and surprised me the most were the burpees.  They were… kinda easy?  I just kind of kept moving and got through every set pretty quickly and without having to stop and suck wind as bad as I usually do.  Is it possible that my cardio or burpee technique is actually starting to improve?

Sit ups were a piece of cake, and the rope pulls went well.

All in all this was a great class.  I used to be so hesitant to come on Saturdays and now, not so much anymore.

Just watch, next Saturday we’ll have to do Karen (150 wall balls for time) just because I said that.

6 thoughts on “10.12.2013

Leave a Reply

