10.16.2013

After an episode of insomnia last night, and only getting about 4 hours of sleep, I still managed to drag myself out of bed this morning for the 6 a.m. class.  Since I ride Wednesday nights I don’t have an evening option, and with the WOD today being one that I have literally wanted to do since the day I started Crossfit, I wasn’t going to miss it.

Warm Up:  Usual stuff.  I legitimately hurt everywhere.  The worst at the moment is a horrible collar bone bruise on my left side, but as we were warming up I was flexing and releasing muscles and discovered that I couldn’t find one that wasn’t tight or sore.

Mobility:  Ahhhhh my sweet love the foam roller.  I don’t know how I end up with knots in my ass, but I do.  Felt much better after some leg love.

WOD:  Fight Gone Bad
3 Rounds
Wall Ball
SDHP
Box Jump 20”
Push Press
Row (for cals)

Each activity is performed for 1 minute with no rest between.  After each full round you get 1 minute of rest before repeating.  Score is total number of reps plus row cals.

Score: 148 @ 53 and 14 wall ball

Rx for this workout is a 20 lbs wall ball, 20” box and 75 lbs.  I really really REALLY wanted to go Rx, but the point of this workout is volume, and I knew if had done that I would have ended up with under 100 reps and missed the point.

I’m finally getting to the point where, on certain movements, I’m strong enough to do the workout as prescribed but I really need to pay attention to what we’re trying to accomplish.  It won’t do me any good to do an Rx weight and not hit the goal of the workout.

So I scaled.  And I’m really happy that I did.

I think I actually scaled pretty well all things considered.  While I could have physically done more weight, especially on the SDHP, by the last round I was having to break up the reps into sets of 5 or so, which seemed to be about where we were supposed to be.

This was at least as much fun as I hoped for, maybe even more.

5 thoughts on “10.16.2013

    1. Hahahhaha I admit, I considered it.

      Right now, at 3 p.m., I’m thinking that a nap and some yoga sounds a whole lot better than riding tonight.

      I might be “listening to my body…” but then again my body is kind of a lazy cow most of the time so I’m not sure that’s my best bet.

Leave a Reply

