10.17.2013

Made it to 6 a.m. again because I have plans yet again this evening.  I’m telling ya, I have no problem getting out of bed when going after work simply isn’t an option.

Warm Up:  Usual stuff.  I went to Yoga last night and my body feels SO much better.  I’m still sore in my hamstrings and have a nasty collar bone bruise, but otherwise much better today.

SWOD:  Front Squat
1×10 zombie squat @33
1×5 @ 53
1×5@ 63
1×5 @ 73
1×1@ 83
1×4@ 73
1×5 @ 83

Front squats never really feel right to me, but today these felt better and I really focused on keeping my core tight and elbows up.

My first attempt with a set at 83 I failed on the second rep, and then turned into a big baby and didn’t want to clean it up because of my collar bone bruise.  I totally asked another girl to lift the other end with me so I woudlnt’ have to do the clean.  I’m ashamed.

I honestly had no intention of attempting another set at 83 but the ladies I was working with insisted that I had the weight, and they were right.  The last rep was ugly, but I stood it up.  I really REALLY need to continue to focus on keeping my torso up and core tight so that I’m not coming forward and failing this lift.

WOD:

3 RFT
Run 400 (row 400)
10 sit ups
10 back extensions
10 med ball twists each side

Time: 10:41 (or 10:14, can’t remember for sure) with row and 14 lbs med ball

This was a fun little WOD.  The super awesome kids did GHD sit ups and back extensions and that was darn impressive.  Given my one and only experince with the GHD, the back extensions scared the crap out of me so I can’t even imagine what sit ups must feel like.

I’m also saying it here publicly so that I can’t go back on it, moving forward no more 10 lbs med ball for me ever… yes that includes on wall balls.  I just need to get over myself and keep pushing, and was proud that today I took the 10 lbs ball but then put it back because I knew I could do more.  Same yesterday with “Fight Gone Bad” and wall balls, I grabbed the big girl ball.  It helps that it’s blue so that I can joke about grabbing the blue ball.

Really, most everything I do is for comedic effect.  Including my ball selection apparently.

11 thoughts on “10.17.2013

  1. WTG on the commitment to harder work. You can do it. And 6 AM sucks but at least you don’t have to wait for it to start. And you can show up looking really bad and no one cares at all because they are all still asleep, too.

    • Thanks!

      You are SO right about 6 a.m., espeically the looking really bad part. We have a couple of ladies who show up with their hair done and make up on and I can’t help but think I would put my eye out trying to put on mascara that early in the morning.

  2. Yay for >10lb medicine balls! I kind of refused to use even the 12lb for a while…it’s so much easier to go with what you know you can do.

Leave a Reply

