Ask and you shall… end up with a gypsy psychic?

Just tell me what you wannnnnttttttt.

Just tell me what you wannnnnttttttt.

“Don’t you always get your way?” McBeal asked this morning at Crossfit.

I’m not even sure what I had just got my way on, but I’m sure I had sold a line of crap to someone who bought it and here I was, getting called out on it.

Rather that feign offense, I decided to just tell the truth.

“Yeah, usually,” I admitted.

When I was a kid I would swear that I was like, psychic or something.  You know, before I knew what that meant.   I thought through my psychosis (yes, I swear) that I was able to control people’s thoughts and get them to give me what I want.

Extra cupcake?  Tell grandma how much you love her and can’t wait to chill with her in heaven.

Extended curfew?  Ask mom, but not when she’s at work and preferably after telling her I had just done an extra chore without being asked.

Job offer?  Yeah, I’ve been offered every position I’ve ever interviewed for that I’ve actually wanted.  I would love to claim that I have been qualified for each, but that would be untrue.

So how do I do it?

Two simple practices.  First, is applying my years and years of sales training.  I’ve mastered the art of persuasion, and helping folks to come to the conclusions that I want them to on their own.  I would say that’s a pretty fancy feat for 30.  I’m like one of those gypsy psychics they bring on Oprah who knows what you’re going to say before you say it because you’re going to say what I’m trying to make you say.

Or something.

But really, I more often it’s because I practice a fine art that I sometimes think has been lost through the ages.

I ask people for what I want.

*Gasp!*  The shock, the horror!

I realize that making direct requests is not in everyone’s comfort zone, but I would suggest this is one surefire technique to get what you ultimately want.  I tend to be super laid back about most things, but when I actually have an opinion I offer it, and when I actually want something, I ask for it.

So here is my challenge to you my readers, next time you want something, ask for it.  Make your case as to why it is a good idea, and then simply ask.  Every job I’ve been offered has been because I sold my skills well in the interview, and then asked when I could expect their phone call with my formal job offer.  Every extra cupcake I ever stuffed in my pie hole was from simply saying that I wanted one.

Just ask.  Nine times out of ten, it ends pretty well.

And for that other one time, I always have my psychosis.  Let me know if you need to borrow it.

9 thoughts on “Ask and you shall… end up with a gypsy psychic?

Leave a Reply

