Guest Post: Accept Your Growth

Time after time I’ve attributed my success with and commitment to Crossfit to the amazing coaches that I have pushing me every single day.  Coach being one who inspires me the most.  He’s given me countless pep talks, and time and again finds new ways to help me succeed.  His knowledge is vast, his sarcasm endless.

I can’t sum up how awesome he and the other coaches are in a blog post, but I can share with you one of hundreds of examples of how he not only motivates me, but all of the athletes he coaches daily with the below guest blog post.

Yeah, he realizes that this means his pervy comments are no longer anonymous on this blog, but if even one thing he says below pushes YOU a little bit harder and a little bit farther today than you thought you could go, he believes it’s worth it.

Oh, and for the record, this is TOTALLY not me that he’s blogging about.  I swear.  No seriously, today was a planned rest day.  Damn it.

Aaron Weedo

Aaron Weedo

By:  Aaron Weedo
Owner, Athlete, Head Coach of Crossfit LWR
ACE CPT
CrossFit Level 1
USAW Level 1
Division I Football Player
Division I Baseball Player

Me: “Hey, why didn’t you come in today?”

Random CFLWR Member: “Because it’s snatch, and I’m really horrible at snatch and I’m no good.”

This is a scene that is far too often played out either in the gym, text message, facebook, etc. I will honestly tell you that this is one of the most disappointing conversations I have. I want you all to understand something about “leaving your ego at the door.”

Running from WODs because of a movement you see come up is not something I condone and want to help lay some groundwork that may help you overcome your fears. As you know, the word “can’t” doesn’t exist in this gym. If you can’t snatch the super scared of getting a bar over your head? Do you just not understand the re has to be a reason. Is it mobility? Is it that you are new? Is it the fact that you are movement? No matter the reason, you ARE allowed to feel that way, and it’s totally expected.

So much of what we teach you in here takes time to learn. Not time in today’s sense. For instance, I put something in the microwave, and “BAM”, it’s ready. Or, I want to look something up so I ask Siri. Time, good, old fashioned, TIME. I’ve read that it can take up to 10 years to fully learn and grasp the snatch (yup, I meant to do that!). This is just one movement though, and we have a multitude of movements and standards that must be achieved. This is hard enough for the young whipper snapper that comes to the gym 3 hours a day for the first 10 years of his life. Let alone, you, the mom, the dad, the boss, the busy ass person that you are!!

We are looking for you to gain a basic understanding of movements that we feel are going to offer the best variety and functionality in real life. Many of you, however, have never done any sort of athletic sport/adventure your entire life. For you to expect yourself to master these movements would be like me going into the operating room later to remove someone’s tonsils. I’m not trying to compare snatching to operating but hopefully the point is not lost. I’ve been lifting weights and more specifically “training” for some sort of sport since I was 14. I sure as hell hope that whatever movement I’m showing you looks like I’ve been doing it for a while.

The point here is to enjoy your growth. Accept your growth, as an athlete, as a CrossFitter, and as a person. I was able to throw over 90 mph on the baseball field after 18 years of practicing the sport! You don’t think that was frustrating. I was always around guys that threw harder than me. But I trusted in long-term growth. I wanted to get better, and I did. We have set up a program that requires your commitment. It truly does. If you’re not committed, you will not get better, and you are probably going to quit. I hate to see this but it does happen. I will tell you though, that if you come in, even on the days you’re scared, we will help you. We will show you what you CAN do in order to be able to do get better at the things you can’t do. Getting better will not happen though if you are not doing lifts, not finishing the required number of reps, or cheating on your diet every change you get. But, if you stay committed, put in the time, put in the work, and just be patient and trust that we will get you where you need to be, you will feel the best you have ever felt about yourself. Overcome your fears, trust in the program you pay for, and by all means, “leave your ego at the door and your sweat on the floor.”

17 thoughts on “Guest Post: Accept Your Growth

    • I’ve been wanting to for some time now, and Coach actually posted this today on facebook to the members. I texted him within about a minute asking if I could re-use it because THIS is what I want my blog to be about. 🙂

      That said, I’m always interested in guest bloggers and would love to feature a post of yours if you’re ever interested? We could even swap and help our followers to find eachother? Let me know if you want to talk more about it. 🙂

      • Thanks!! Pretty much everything is a PR since I am so new, like last week’s 113lb deadlift, but it’s a win all the same 😀
        For me, getting anything overhead that isn’t a training bar makes me happy.
        P.S. You should have seen the most amazing snatch done today in my class, a PR for this girl (who is definitely the rockinest, hottest, muscled-up, that’s-what-I-want-to-look-like girl (I have never seen her before at our box) that I have seen so far). I think it was 113. Uh-maz-ing!! I was staring.

      • Hm I wonder who it was? Might be the awesome chick who did my hair last night? She’s a total beast and I’ve seen her snatch before. I could see her doing 113.

    • Haha, oh boys.

      Well, Iike I mentioned to Chocolate Covered Race Medals, I’m happy to guest blog for you if you’re interested in guest blogging for me in return? We can link to eachother’s sites and expand our reach through one anothers followers.

      Let me know if you’re interested and we can chat via email about possible subjects. 🙂

  1. The only way to get better at something is to keep practicing. This is true for all of us and it is how we grew up. Can you imagine what life would be like if at someplace between 10 and 14 months old as you were learning to walk and fell on your ass, you just stopped trying? How about in first grade when you were trying so hard to learn to read? It was hard and the letters were just so tricky and though and thought were anything alike. What if you gave up?

    I used to watch kids on the playground shooting baskets over and over and over and over and very few of them went in. What if they quit because they weren’t perfect?

    Remembering this, especially in a new endeavor, but even every day is important. It isn’t supposed to be easy. It never was. But even as babies we kept at it until we learned. To walk, to talk, to run, to read and write …. and look at us know, afraid of a snatch or any other move from a pullup to a double under. Mastery comes with practice. Says the novice who can’t do shit but still keeps trying.

    • Amen! I personally have always had a tendancy to give up on something for fear of looking foolish. I love that I have so many positive influences that simply remind me how silly that is.

Leave a Reply

