Slow Cooker Mexican Chicken Soupish (because it’s so thick it’s hard to call it soup)

Even though I live in Florida, I’m a total crockpot/slow cooker junkie.  I don’t have much time to prepare meals, but it’s important to me to eat as healthy as possible.  I’m always throwing a bunch of stuff in the crock pot and hoping it tastes good, and this week’s concoction was exceptionally tasty.

If you keep an eye on the ingredients in any of the canned items, you can have a 100% paleo meal with no more than 10 minutes of prep time.

You’re welcome.

mexican chicken soup

Ingredients:
1.5 lbs of chicken of your choice (I used breast)
1 large poblano pepper
1 jalapeno pepper
1 large onion
1 clove garlic, minced
1 large can of diced tomatoes (check for wheat/soy/sugar to keep it paleo)
1 large bunch of cilantro chopped (about 1 cup)
4 limes juiced (about 1/3 cup)
1 can green chilies (again, check ingredients)
32 ounces chicken broth (or base if you prefer)
Salt, Pepper, Cumin, Cayenne pepper, chili powder

Directions:

I swear to you, it’s this easy.

Put the chicken in the base of your crock pot.

Chop all ingredients that aren’t chopped (peppers, onion, garlic, cilantro) and throw them on top of the chicken.

Add tomatoes, lime juice and chicken broth.

Spice to your taste.

Set slow cooker for 8 hours on low or about 4.5 on high.  When it beeps, use two forks to shred chicken and mix well.

This comes out as a very thick hearty soup, making for a very filling and protein rich meal.

25 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Mexican Chicken Soupish (because it’s so thick it’s hard to call it soup)

    1. Yup. It was actually three whole chicken breasts. They fell apart by the end. I was pretty darn pleased that it worked out how I hoped it would.

      Some of my experiments don’t end so well.

      1. I stay away from dairy, but absolutely. If Paleo isn’t a consideration I would say top with sour cream and eat with those “Scoops” tortilla chips. 🙂

    1. Usually I’m all for sharing, but this stuff was really tasty. So excuse my rudeness while I hoard it in my corner and say, “get your own.”

      Don’t worry, I’m also yelling at the neighbor children to “get off my lawn” at the same time. 😀

      1. Did you have to scrape your windsheid off this morning before venturing the the gym? Didn’t think so… lol That should make you feel better about the “cold front” you guys just got haha

  1. I will be using this recipe probably before the week is over! Thank you!

    I love to use the slow cooker even though I also live in Florida. It’s so much easier for meal prep. I can make a whole batch of something like white bean chicken chili or chicken noodle soup and then eat it for lunch throughout the week. I used to wait until it got cold to break it out but then this year that would have meant waiting until, uh, today, so I’ve decided to just say the hell with seasonal appropriateness with regards to my slow cooker.

  2. Was ready to make this last night, but forgot to get green chiles! I said what the hell and made it without the can of chiles. Woke up this morning to a beautiful tasty aroma in my kitchen. Chicken shredded like a champ. I only gave it a little taste test and it was yummo. Looking forward to lunch. Adding some avocado slices on top and I’m good to go! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. Nicole! Awesome soup … LOVE it … my first hearty soup of the cold season and that one is a winner! I will post it on my facebook page with a link to your blog. Thanks for sharing. Here in Korea I couldn’t get those peppers so i used a bell pepper and added half a jar of salsa. I also added in a small tin of organic tomato paste and about a tablespoon of coconut crystals to sweeten it a little (paleo alternative to sugar – they don’t taste coconutty).

Leave a Reply

