11.5.2013

Back to 6 a.m. where I belong.  I am actually much more well behaved when I don’t wake up until half way thru class.

SWOD:
Tall Snatch 5×3
5×3@33

Snatch Deadlift 5×3
5×3@83

The snatch deadlift really makes sense to me.  I get it.  My body gets it.  When we do these I feel like my legs and torso learn something for the next time we snatch.

However the tall snatch just doesn’t make sense to my body at all.  I have so much trouble not bouncing and just dropping straight into a squat.  I don’t want to focus on the negative with this lift though, so I will say, my stability at the bottom is SO much better.  When starting in the “tall” position it is physically impossible to come up on my toes, so at least that drill helps to fix that bad habit I have.

WOD:
21-15-9
Deadlift
Burpee Bar Jump Over
*After sets of 21 and 15 400m run (.5 mile bike)

Time: 13:36 @ 83 lbs

Wow this was hard.  I honestly think this was one of the hardest CF workouts I’ve ever done.

It’s likely largely because my legs that were sore on Monday are a hot mess today and my quads literally have nothing in them, but this workout kicked my ass.

I thought I was being conservative on the deadlifts but they ended up feeling super heavy mid way thru the set of 21 and never got better.

Every time I had to jump over the bar there was this whole start stop thing happening.  I actually had to take a step back more than once and breathe and remind myself the bar isn’t as high as a box and I jump on those all the time.

I used the bike as my recovery, and man did I need it.

But as always, I did it and was proud of my effort once it was over.

6 thoughts on “11.5.2013

Leave a Reply

