Not that kinda threesome

I have a secret.

I added swimming into my training a few weeks back.  Ya’ll already know that I ride 3-4x per week.  And I might have tried running a few times over the past few week s (pain free!) as well.

So yeah.  If you’re not a total idiot you realize what that means.

I’m officially tri-training.

triathlon easy

It’s funny because, when I started Crossfit over a year ago, I did it because I didn’t want to do triathlons any longer.  I had done several, then let myself get incredibly out of shape and overweight for a year and a half.  When I finally snapped out of it and looked to add exercise back into my routine, doing any of the tri sports just felt wrong.  I was so slow, so fat, and so out of shape.  It was disheartening to know what I used to be able to accomplish was so far outside of my grasp.

So I started Crossfit.  I had never picked up a heavy weight in my life, had absolutely no previous experience with any of the moments, and therefore had nothing to compare myself to.

And I loved it.  Still do.

But lately, I’ve been having that itch to go the distance again with the SBR.  I hopped in the pool after over a year off and found that I hadn’t lost it.  It took a few tries to get my stroke back and to not eat giant facefulls of water every time I tried to breathe, but I loved it just like I used to.  Not only that, I haven’t lost much speed.

I am a stronger cyclist now than I ever was as a triathlete.  Amazing how actually riding with other cyclists (something that was unheard of during my previous tri training) has made me stronger, faster, and better at not falling over at stop signs.

And running.  Well, that’s running.  It likely will always be my biggest limiter, but what better reason to train than weakness than to register for an event in which I will have to do it?

I have a spring race in mind and my schedule laid out through the end of December.  I’ll be swimming 3x/week, biking 3-4x/week and running 2x/week (need to be nice to the foot at first), along with going to Crossfit on Mondays, Tuesdays and Thursdays.

I’m going to start posting all my training under my daily dated posts so that I can keep it all in one place, so be prepared for some changes over the next few months.

And hopefully, some hilarious stories to go along with this insane plan.

17 thoughts on “Not that kinda threesome

  1. You should check out the CrossFit Endurance blog on crossfit.com – they have workouts for biking, swimming and running and are geared towards triathaloners! They are all short but high intensity that will REALLY help your speed and your joints will love you bc your not training long distances alllllll the time.

  2. The other reason you may be stronger with biking is a bazillion squats with or without weights. Those make your legs stronger no matter what. That’s what I found when I hopped on the old bike for a short ride with even some low grade hills. Squats are just the bomb. And Burpees, but don’t tell anyone I said that. I will deny it with my dying breath, if I have any.

  3. I confess that I too am going to do a triathlon again! GASP! Just a sprint. (FYI, we have mutual tri pals from that tri site) I swore tris off when I started crossfit 2 years ago too! My gym offers crossfit endurance workouts .. track, swimming, rowing and many get together to ride. I’ve taken a few here and there and figured it might be fun to string some SBR together one day in March and see what happens! Just doing it for fun and not even thinking of it as a triathlon.. more like something different.

    1. We doooooo? Do we know eachother from that site? That would be totally small wordlish.

      That’s awesome! I’m very fortunate that I’m a member of a great cycling club, and know several of the folks in the local running club here too. My box isn’t really endurance sportish at all, but I almost wonder if I asked around if we couldn’t get some CF training workouts together.

      1. I don’t participate much on BT anymore. I just keep up with the peeps on FB. One of coaches/owners at my box does triathlon and he was a college swimmer/swim coach. So he incorporates the CFE classes into the mix for those that want to do a tri. Pool and track workouts. It’s fun….hard. Intense!

    1. Thanks! I know it’s looks crazy, but it’s actually not that bad. I’m just base building now, so most of the SBR sessions are short. The longest run is 4-5 miles, longest bike around 30. Other sessions are all only 30-40 minutes.

Leave a Reply

