Thanks for the ride Sesame Street

happiness

Whoever writes my internal monologue is a sarcastic bastard.

Oh wait, I guess that’s me.

As I’ve mentioned before, I have a habit of having a lot of internal dialogue during especially difficult workouts.  At Crossfit these usually translate into some sort of repeatable mantra’s, but when I’m cycling it’s usually music.

I think it might be because it helps me to keep my cadence where it belongs.  If I think of a song with a beat that’s around 90 rpm, I can pedal to the beat.  If I end up singing it really reallllllly slow in my head, I know I need to pick it up or downshift, and if I’m goingsofastthatican’tactuallygetthewordsout, it’s time to add more gear.

I usually don’t pick the song on purpose.  It just happens to be whatever pops into my head at the time.

Sometimes I don’t even realize I’m singing one because I’m so in the zone.

My rides this week have been pretty darn windy, making me zone out hardcore and just focus on pushing the pedals.

During my particularly brutal ride last Saturday, I had reached a point where my lady bits were screaming, the wind what whipping, and I had just had enough.  I was on the lowest gear the bike had and felt like I was barely moving forward.

At one point during the ride I had been singing Rhianna’s “Rescue Me” to myself (yeah, no accounting for taste when I’m in pain), and went back to that song just to keep the pedals moving.

Before I knew it was humming, OUT LOUD the melody to “The Wheels on the Bus Go Round and Round…” what the?

Ok sarcastic little devil sitting on my shoulder who decided it was a good idea to do this ride, I don’t have children.  I have ABSOLUTELY no excuse for that song to be stuck in my head.

But I’ll tell ya what, it had the perfect tempo to get me home.

Add some bass and a little booty shakin’, and Usher might have his next hit right there.

12 thoughts on “Thanks for the ride Sesame Street

  1. One day we should ride together. Have a Sesame Street song along! I used to sing “Ladybugs Picnic”. Drove my riding mates crazy …one, two, three /four, five, six /seven, eight, nine …..it really had a great tempo! 🙂

  2. Oh, yeah, I’ve had some doozies in my head. One time, in an off-road motorcycle race, it was “The Chicken Dance.” “I don’t wanna be a chicken I don’t wanna be a duck…” And yeah, I was singing out loud at one point (thank god for engine noise.) Sometimes our brains do weird stuff when our body is stressed!

    1. I usually like really angry rock. Something like Disturbed and the like, but I’m honestly such a music lover that anything will do.

      Anything but Sesame Street based tunes that is!

Leave a Reply

