I’ve lost 10 lbs this month, so what’s changed?

I know “they” say that the number on the scale doesn’t matter, but for those of us with some serious weight to lose, yeah it kinda does.

I’ll preface this by saying that I’m also taking measurements and also going by how my clothes fit and all that jazz, but regardless of the amount of muscle I have, I also have weight to lose.  And let’s face it, 10 lbs is a milestone to celebrate.

So woo hooo, here’s the celebration.

I feel like I’ve been trying to shed some body fat forever, but it’s been stubbornly hanging on despite my attempts.  I really did feel like I was doing everything in my power, and nothing was working, but about a month ago I had a pretty frank heart to heart with myself and realized that nutritionally I was simply failing.

Just knowing what to do, how to eat, and what sorts of foods to put in your body is not enough.  I actually needed to do that.  Like, more often than not.  Ideally all the time.

After that firm reality check, something just sort of clicked.  It reminded me of last year when I completed a Whole 30 and didn’t stray from the program once.  My mind was made up then that for the next 30 days I just simply wouldn’t eat junk.

This time, however, it’s a bit different.  My mind is made up 100% that INDEFINITELY I don’t want to put crap in my body.  At first it was really challenging, and I found myself fantasizing about pizza and ice cream, but after a week or two of telling myself that I could eat them if I wanted after I had a big serving of veggies and some protein, the cravings started to level out.  Shockingly (or maybe not at all), I never did end up eating the pizza or the ice cream.

I’m not saying I won’t ever, but I am saying that at the moment I’m really happy with my progress.  I’m never hungry, I have tons of energy, and I’m seeing results.

Has anyone else had any success stories lately?  Let’s hear ’em!

11 thoughts on “I’ve lost 10 lbs this month, so what’s changed?

  1. it’s so much easier to stick to something when you start seeing and feeling the results. I hired a coach for nutrition and fitness to finally give me the push I need to stick to something and I also am feeling really good. and the results are motivating me to keep going and see what other changes I can make. Congrats on your accomplishments and welcome back to the blogging world. you were missed.

  2. Congratulations on your success! Now, you’re likely on a bit of a pink cloud. This will last for a while and then there’s the possibility of a let down. Maintaining through that will be tough. Read this post if that happens to you (it did me, on something else entirely.

  3. Congratulations on 10 pounds!!! And, more importantly, for making it through the cravings and madness to actually enjoying eating healthfully. You’re a rockstar 🙂

  4. I’ve been eating healthy,exercising, and working on changing my life for the last 6 months. I’ve managed to lose 60lbs. I’m working on losing another 30, and then I will start a bulking phase, I’m wanting to compete in a body building show. Congrats to you for the first 10lbs. You’ve got this! Just keep on doing what you are doing!

    1. Congratulations! That’s a great accomplishment! I know several ladies who have done figure and body building type stuff and they LOVE it. Good luck to you, I look forward to reading about your journey!

Leave a Reply

