Meal Prep Mondays

Lately I’ve been asked time and again what’s going in my pie hole that’s helping me to see such great weightloss results?  Apparently “covering my mouth with duct tape whenever there is pizza around” isn’t the answer most folks are looking for, so today I wanted to take a few minutes to walk through my meal prep for the week.

Before we begin though, I’ll let you in on a little secret.  I am not about to tell you anything you can’t read a thousand other places.  Losing weight isn’t rocket science.  You need to eat whole, healthy foods 95% of the time.  I follow a mainly paleo/primal approach not because I think cavemen were all that bright, but because the emphasis is on REAL food.  One of my Crossfit coaches used to say, “if it has an ingredients label, don’t eat it.”  For my approach, that about sums it up.

All that said, Monday’s are my favorite day of the week lately.  I’m fortunate to be “retired” and have the luxury of doing my meal prep while the hubs is at work and I can blast Ed Sheeran radio and sing and dance in the kitchen in my underpants while spending an hour getting my shit together for the week.

I eat 4-5 times per day, and include veggies with every meal.  In order to keep from being blindingly bored, I try to have a lot of options in the house.  On Monday’s I usually sit down and think through total servings I will need for the week and slice, dice, roast and portion accordingly.

This week, Monday Meal Prep was as follows:

  • 2 lbs carrots roasted in coconut oil
  • 1 lbs brussels sprouts roasted in coconut oil
  • 5 lbs spaghetti squash roasted
  • 2 large cucumbers peeled and chopped
  • 6 portabello mushroom brushetta cups (sautéed onions, garlic and tomato, mixed with basil baked in mushroom caps)
  • 5 servings of homemade meat sauce (made with grass fed ground sirloin)
  • 4 grilled chicken breast
  • 1 dozen eggs boiled

I did the carrots, brussels sprouts and squash all at the same time.  While they were roasting I browned the ground beef and got the sauce going.  Once the veggies came out of the oven I made the brushetta mixture and threw in the mushrooms while grilling the chicken and boiling the eggs.  All told it took just over an hour and I am well stocked for the week.

This way, any time I’m hungry I have lots of healthy options to choose from.

Now it’s your turn!

What are your meal plans for the week?  What’s your favorite meal prep recipe?

7 thoughts on “Meal Prep Mondays

  1. I am totally in agreement with you on the meal prep being key. I spend time every sunday to get stuff prepared for the week. We grill a ton of meat so it’s there and ready to go to add to meals. I also prepare my entire week in a meal plan so I know what I am eating and when. I include my workouts in the plan so I can fit in post workout meals where I need to. it’s worked wonders for me and I have seen major results because of it.

    1. That’s awesome! I admit, I’m great about planning during the day, but we go out to eat so many nights a week that’s the tricky part. I try to make sure I have enough food, but not too much. I hate wasting food.

  2. Things I like to have in my freezer at all times: cooked shredded beef, pork, and chicken breast; pureed vegetable soup; pureed sweet potato/fruit concoction (for post-WOD carbs); Paleo granola and granola bars; sausage/egg bake. I have a harder time figuring out the veggies; I usually just go with raw ones at lunch, and then cook up a veggie with dinner. You’re right, planning and preparation are everything! Congrats on your success!

    1. I try to have some sort of shredded crock pot meat ready to rock all the time too. This week it was meat sauce, but truthfully that’s because I went grocery shopping while hungry and ended up buying a freaking 9 lbs spaghetti squash so I figured I needed something to eat it with. That’s a lot of squash.

  3. I have a friend that says if you couldn’t eat it before 1920 don’t. I’m just getting started with a go at meal prepping. It’s going to be interesting. I think it’s going to help me dial in my macros to a T though.

Leave a Reply

