The treadmill workout that won’t make you wish for a power outage

At one time I actually contemplated sitting in the steam room until I passed out unconscious and drooling to get out of having to get on the treadmill at the gym.  But then my excessively imaginative brain decided to paint pictures of what my withered shriveled body would look like if no one found me for days and I died in there, so I promptly decided against it.

But just the fact that I was willing to risk death to get out of a treadmill workout kinda showed me that maybe my boring 30 minute steady state sessions needed a little spicing up.

Enter in my current coach, and her awesome interval workout that I’ve done every Wednesday for the past month.  I can honestly say, this one is SO MUCH FUN and has a ton of variety, so I don’t ever find myself getting bored or wishing for a power outage so that damn belt will stop moving.

Check it out:

5 minute warm up:  Begin walking at a comfortable pace and every minute increase your pace by .1 and your incline by 1%

Minute 5: Increase incline to 6%, increase pace to brisk walk
Minute 6: Incline at 6%, jog 1 minute
Minute 7: Incline at 6%, brisk walk

Minute 8: Increase incline to 8%, maintain brisk walk pace
Minute 9: Incline at 8%, jog 1 minute
Minute 10: Incline at 8%, brisk walk

Minute 11: Increase incline to 6%, increase pace to brisk walk
Minute 12: Incline at 6%, jog 1 minute
Minute 13: Incline at 6%, brisk walk

Minute 14-15:  Incline at 2%, recovery walk

REPEAT minutes 5-15

Cool down 5 minutes with gradually decreasing incline and pace (1% and .1 on pace every minute for 5 minutes).

Voila!  So pop in your headphones, blast a great playlist and give it a go.  Be sure to let me know what you think!

4 thoughts on “The treadmill workout that won’t make you wish for a power outage

  1. Pingback: 5 Rut-Busting Workout Changes | Not the fat kid in gym class anymore…

  2. Pingback: 5 Ways to Lose Fat, Not Muscle | Weights and Wonder

Leave a Reply

