Well that was pretty cool

Saturday marked the 2nd annual In House Competition at my former Crossfit box.  I promised a bunch of people I would stop by, and truthfully, I really miss my Crossfit fam, so it was a perfect way to see pretty much everyone in one swoop.

Just like last year, the atmosphere at the box was amazing.  I was there for an hour or so, and watching my friends kill some serious workouts was really motivating.  But I’ve gotta tell ya, there was something else that was unexpectedly motivating as well.

Every. single. person. who saw me commented on how great I look or how much weight I’ve lost.  Some folks were subtle, but some of my closer friends said things like, “shit lady, you’re like half a person!”

Mind you, I KNOW I’ve lost weight.  Hell, I’ve been working my ASS off and not stuffing anything exciting into my pie hole for weeks to do so.  I’m fully aware.  And hubs tells me all the time how great I look.  But other than that, I haven’t really had much feedback from anyone.  That was until Saturday.

Talk about an ego boost!  When I left I was so pumped up by the combined praise and the competition atmosphere I had one of the best workouts of my life.  Good times.

As of this morning I’m down officially 23 lbs.  I’m not even really sure what more to say about it.  I’m thrilled with my progress, and every day I miss things like junk food and alcohol less and less.  I’m not sure that eating healthy, normal sized meals will ever be anything that’s “easy” for me, but by taking steps daily to make it part of my lifestyle; I know I’m creating habits that will be with me for the long haul.

What about you?  Did anything especially motivating or inspiring happen to you this weekend!  Fill me in!

3 thoughts on “Well that was pretty cool

  1. Unfortunately, I’ve been fit for so long now I’m just me. The pats on the back at long in my past, though my wife still throws me a chuck on the shoulder now and again. This isn’t a bad thing really, in fact I didn’t realize it’d been a while till I read this post. It’s closer to a blessing when I look at it in the right light though.

    Congratulations on your progress. Nicely done.

    • Thanks! And yeah, I get what you’re saying. Right now the pats on the back are keeping me motivated and giving me perspective even when I feel like I’m having an “off” day, but when the time comes that no one notices that I’m fit because it’s just simply the standard; that will be a reward in and of itself.

      • It is, I wish you luck and happiness in getting there. Just be sure to maintain flexibility… My wife says I pat my own back enough. 😎

Leave a Reply

