Death by Dragonfly

We’ve all had the wind knocked out of us at least once in our life.  But have you ever had the wind knocked out of you by a three inch long harbinger of death that not only hits you in the chest and paralyzes you, but leaves you splattered with wings and brain matter?

Yeah, up until today I hadn’t either.

It was a really REALLY eventful bike ride kittens.

It felt like this.  Only by a bug.  In the chest.
It felt like this. Only by a bug. In the chest.

I mean, dragonflies don’t look that big to an average human, but take one to the chest at nearly 20 mph and it’s a whole different story.

Anyone else had something disgusting happen lately?  Tell me all about it, stud.

5 thoughts on “Death by Dragonfly

  1. I seem to attract yellow jackets. They fly into my helmet regularly and I’ve become quite adept at removing my helmet to allow said bee to fly way before stinging me (just a touch allergic), replacing said melon protector and re-snapping the chin strap one-handed at 24 mph, while maintaining contact with the group. I learned this trick last year and I used it half a dozen times this season.

    The trick to maintaining contact, of course, is that I have to fall back about ten feet because my concentration is divided and my reaction time is obviously compromised.

    Never been hit by anything big though. That dragonfly had to pack a bit of a wallop.

Leave a Reply

