No, Crossfit didn’t make me fat

About five months ago, I quit Crossfit.  Prior to leaving my super duper awesome box, I had been WODing for nearly two years, and loved every minute of it.

But since leaving Crossfit I’ve lost a shit ton of weight.  A few months ago it was enough that people were starting to notice, and at this point it’s enough that strangers are starting to comment on it.  I look good.  Damn good if I do so say myself, and I’m working my ass off for it.

Interestingly, there seems to be a camp of people who believe that Crossfit was holding me back/making me fat/made me gain weight/limited my potential the entire time I was doing it.  They have no problem pointing out to me time and again that it’s only been since I stopped doing Crossfit that I’ve found the weight loss and physique results that I was looking for, and truly believe that Crossfit was the “problem.”

So here I am to set the record straight folks.  Before one more naysayer jumps in and feels the need to spread their drivel let me clarify to the world:

CROSSFIT DID NOT MAKE ME FAT.

When I quit Crossfit I took a long hard look at the things I was doing from a fitness and nutrition perspective and made the decision and commitment to really overhaul  my lifestyle to make lasting changes to get the results I wanted.  I didn’t cut out Crossfit because it was a change I felt I needed to make to be successful, nor did I think it was holding me back.

I WAS HOLDING MYSELF BACK.

Crossfit isn’t what kept me from reaching my goals.

These things are:

  • Alcohol- I was drinking most every night, and not just one glass of wine.  The calories in the booze combined with the effect it had on my metabolism, and the poor nutritional choices I made as a result of being buzzed contributed to my unhealthy weight.
  • Poor Nutritional Choices-  As I mentioned above, I wasn’t great about making good choices.  While I certainly knew HOW to eat well and to fuel my body properly, I was also just as likely to justify a cheeseburger and fries BECAUSE of the really hard workout I had earlier in the day.
  • Eating too Much-  Calories are weird little buggers.  Sure you can eat 100% Paleo for several days straight, but if that involves gobs of bacon and avocado and not so much in the spinach and greens department, you’re not going to see weight loss results either.
  • Making Lots of Excuses-  Any time I deviated from the nutritional guidelines I knew I should have been following, I always had a really good reason why.  If I had spent that much time and energy convincing myself to just stick to the healthy choices, I would have been much further along.

Moral of the story is:  to achieve your goals you need to work towards them every single day in every action you take and every choice you make.

I’m not perfect, no one is, but over the past 5 months I’ve made great choices every chance I’ve had and am seeing great results because of it.  It’s not because I quit Crossfit, it’s because I quit making excuses and prohibiting myself from being successful.

So to the Crossfit smack talkers- piss off.  I still love the sport, I love my box, and have a lot of respect for the people who do it.

And regardless of what fitness plan you follow, get out there today and kick some ass.  Who’s with me?

11 thoughts on “No, Crossfit didn’t make me fat

  1. how can crossfit make you fat?

    I haven’t done it as such but I can’t see how any exercise regime can make you fat… (with the obvious exception of sumo wrestler training…)

    bravo for setting the record straight and recommitting to good choices 😀

    • I don’t really know how it could either. But there’s a camp of folks out there who really believe that Crossfit isn’t doing great things for fitness. Just very odd.

      And thanks!

  2. I was going to smack-talk crossfit but you talked me out of it. I agree with the Ice Badger above… How can a workout make one fat?

    Now, I can see how misunderstanding a woman’s anatomy as it relates to lifting weights could make one a fat-head, but that’s something else entirely.

    • Exactly. Just because I was squatting a lot of weight, doesn’t mean I was going to turn into some huge beefy chick. I still squat a lot of weight, more actually, and have leaned out a lot. People are dumb.

      • Indeed they are. Do yourself a favor and don’t study politics with an open mind… You’ll never have to fully understand how deep that rabbit hole is.

    • Wondering what you think the outcome might be?

      I think that had I taken the initiative to get my diet under control when I was doing CF I likely would have had some great results there as well. At the moment I really love what I’m doing so I probably won’t be going back anytime soon, but I know lots of folks who have had great results and who maintain an amazing physique from doing Crossfit alone.

Leave a Reply

