Here’s why I’m NOT annoyed that I can’t get a squat rack at the gym

Well happy New Year kittens!  I hope everyone got through the holidays without needing Xanax or considering stabbing their caroling neighbors with scissors while they were wrapping gifts.  Not that I did either of those things.  No, not me.  Never.

2014 was a great year for this Wonder Woman, and 2015 is going to be even better.  I know this, because like every one of you, I’m in charge of my own happiness and success this year.  Pretty sweet action.

The gym this week has been crazier than I remember it being.  Trying to get a squat rack is like being one of the monkey’s in the zoo going after the lone banana, but I’ve got to say, I’m really proud of all the newbies I don’t recognize getting in there and working towards their goals.  Yeah, I realize that not everyone will develop a fitness habit, but if even a few of them stick around, I’ll deal with the crowds without complaint.  After all, I was once the fat, out of shape gal who just had a goal of doing something every day.  Everyone has a chance at success.

So here’s my first 2015 challenge for you, my readers.  Don’t be that person on Facebook or Twitter complaining about all the new people at the gym.  Instead, be that person who says “hi” to someone you haven’t seen before, or offers to let them work in a set on a machine you’re using.

Whether you’ve been doing this for 15 years or 5 minutes, we’re all just trying to get stronger, faster, and reach our goals right?

Be the positive person in someone’s day.  You never know what kind of impact it might have.

7 thoughts on “Here’s why I’m NOT annoyed that I can’t get a squat rack at the gym

  1. You are totally right! Yay for new beginnings!
    I was going to do a post of “proper gym etiquette” but I didn’t want it to come across mean. I just wish that everyone knew that you should share the machines. It’s not first come first serve.
    Good luck this year!

    1. Thanks! I hear ya, I never want to be mean to new folks. I think if anyone was rude to me in the beginning I never would have returned, so I figure I’ll pay the kindness forward.

  2. I totally agree. We should be supportive, sometimes it takes a lot of courage for new people to walk in and make that first start. I remember my first day at my gym, the people are part of the reason I went back.

  3. I agree there’s no need to be rude, we all started somewhere. That said, I think I’ll go right on with being annoyed about it… and channel that into an extra 20 lbs when I get my turn.

  4. YESS!! Thank you for this. Instead of assuming they’re all just “wannabes,” let’s hope they all achieve everything they set their mind to! 🙂

    I’m not one to talk though, since I got a squat rack for Christmas so I don’t have to deal with any waiting….. :p

Leave a Reply

