Does it still count as running if turtles are lapping me?

Here’s a surprise.  I can run over 3 miles and not pewp my pants.  At least, that appears to be the case so far.

On Wednesday, this happened:

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 1.12.12 PM

Now, I’m not actually sure that it counts as running since I’ve seen little old ladies in my neighborhood power walk faster than a 14:20 mile, but whatever, I got it done.

It was beautiful and sunny and a day that couldn’t be missed, and I was grateful to spend so much of it outside.  Sweating.   And smiling.  But sweating none the less.

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 1.16.04 PM

Why am I doing all this running, you ask?  (Or maybe you didn’t, but hey you’re reading and I’m enlightening so go with it…)

Because this girl is officially signed up for the Iron Girl Half Marathon in Clearwater coming up on April 11th!

iron girl

While I haven’t been posting about it much, I’ve been diligently following Hal Higdon’s Half Marathon Training Program for novices, and am really starting to get excited for the race.

While nearly 7 miles didn’t feel good by any stretch, it felt possible.  And even the last mile or two I was still jogging with frequent walk breaks.  My legs were tiered, but not completely spent, and I am starting to build the confidence that I will be able to keep moving forward for over 13 miles.

With just over six weeks left until race day, this is where things get serious.  My long runs increase a mile every week, so the next few weeks have me peaking at the 10 mile mark.  I’m also supplementing heavily with cycling, which is amazing for cross training my cardiovascular system while giving my knees and ankles a break.

And, of course, I’m still weight training every day.

This is the first time in a long time that I’ve felt this strong and healthy. Here’s hoping before race day I also start feeling a bit fast.

My goal for this event is to finish in under 3:15 with a stretch goal of finishing in under 3.  The last time I did this event was in 2011 (good God has it been that long?!) and I finished in 3 hours and 47 seconds.  My cardio isn’t as strong this time around, but who knows what improvements 6 weeks will bring?

And let’s face it, I’m really just in it for the t-shirt and medal anyway.

iron girl medalAre any of my readers training for a spring race?  What are you running?  How is your training going?  Fill me in dudes and dudettes! 

10 thoughts on “Does it still count as running if turtles are lapping me?

  1. First ride of the year, outdoors, on Sunday – fifty miles of awesome starting at 9:30 and I can’t wait! No races planned, just long blissful hours in the saddle.

    1. The first charity ride of the year here is on Sunday too. I’m riding the 32 (not quite up for the metric century with all the running I’m doing) but I’m really looking forward to it. It’s supposed to be 85, sunny and just a bit breezy. So basically, freaking perfect. Have a great ride!

      1. I live in Florida. Our “winter” lasted exactly two days where it got down into the low 30s at night and upper 40s during the day and everyone thought the world was going to end. I love it here. 😀

  2. Congrats on your upcoming race. i’m running a half marathon on April 12th. This will be my 5th half marathon. But because I was injured I haven’t run one in a little over a year. But I am really looking forward to being on the road again. Good luck and always have fun!

Leave a Reply

